Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Getting Setanta on a TV with Freeview built in!


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2007, 16:09
Ivesy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76

My parents have a Sony TV (CRT) with freeview built in. At the backof the the TV there is a slot which I'm hoping is for the 'card' I presume you need to watch Setanata with. I think from memory it says PCMCIA slot.

Anyway they want to watch Setanta Sports on it so my question is how? When I registered for myself with them last week they wanted the viewing card number from my Sky card which was straightforward but in my parents case they don't have a card.

So how do they register? Would Satanta send them one?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Ivesy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 06-08-2007, 16:14
east_boy_16
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,757
I believe Setanta will send you a viewing card but you will have to get a CAM (Common Access Module) to put in the back of your telly which will support the card.
east_boy_16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 16:16
lstar337
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somersets Mighty Mendip Tx!
Posts: 8,963
My parents have a Sony TV (CRT) with freeview built in. At the backof the the TV there is a slot which I'm hoping is for the 'card' I presume you need to watch Setanata with. I think from memory it says PCMCIA slot.

Anyway they want to watch Setanta Sports on it so my question is how? When I registered for myself with them last week they wanted the viewing card number from my Sky card which was straightforward but in my parents case they don't have a card.

So how do they register? Would Satanta send them one?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
You need to contact them and tell them you want a card for Freeview, you will also need a CAM that they will sell you.

The card fits in the CAM, the CAM fits in the TV.
lstar337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 16:16
PineBox
 
Posts: n/a
My parents have a Sony TV (CRT) with freeview built in. At the backof the the TV there is a slot which I'm hoping is for the 'card' I presume you need to watch Setanata with. I think from memory it says PCMCIA slot.

Anyway they want to watch Setanta Sports on it so my question is how? When I registered for myself with them last week they wanted the viewing card number from my Sky card which was straightforward but in my parents case they don't have a card.

So how do they register? Would Satanta send them one?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
You will need a CAM (conditional access module) and a viewing card, both of which can be bought direct from Setanta or even Argos.

Please bear in mind that there is only one Setanta channel on DTT (Freeview)

http://gb.setanta.tv/freeview.htm
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 16:20
east_boy_16
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,757
I'm sure I stated that in my second post
east_boy_16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 16:56
Ivesy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Thanks for the replies. I had a feeling it wouldn't be as straightforward as getting a card from Setanta to plug into this card slot at the back of the TV! any ideas what that is there for then if they need a CAM?

When you say one Setanta channel that seems a bit unfair when with Sky you get about 6 or 7 channels for the same price!
Ivesy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 17:00
lstar337
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somersets Mighty Mendip Tx!
Posts: 8,963
The slot on your TV is for the CAM.

There are different CAMS for each encryption system, the CAM slot is so that TV's can be sold all over europe and still be used for subscription services.
lstar337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 17:53
wallydug
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: scotland
Posts: 871
Thanks for the replies. I had a feeling it wouldn't be as straightforward as getting a card from Setanta to plug into this card slot at the back of the TV! any ideas what that is there for then if they need a CAM?

When you say one Setanta channel that seems a bit unfair when with Sky you get about 6 or 7 channels for the same price!

Ivesy this was discussed on another forum,the cost of the one channel on DTT for broadcasting using the bandwith is very expensive compared to satelitte, this is due to limited availablitly of channel space so setanta are charged a premium rate. the limited availability is why there is only one channel. as more bandwidth becomes available setanta may increase channels
wallydug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 18:06
Ivesy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
I see, thanks wallydug. One final question, can I assume that ALL the Live premiership games (Setanta have the rights for) will be show on Setanata 1 ie on Freeview?

Thanks again for the help
Ivesy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 20:13
chrisy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Beds (Sandy Heath TX)
Posts: 8,250
The slot on your TV is for the CAM.
Actually it's for a CI module - of which a CAM is only one of many possibilities.

Chris
chrisy is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:25.