Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

How can you find out your mobile number ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2007, 21:59
CXC3000
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shire of York
Posts: 9,740

For example, I have an extra SIM card (on Orange), but unfortunately with no paperwork etc.

The only credit on there is 1p which is pretty useless.

I know I would need to top up the card but is there any way of finding the number out without (topping up) ?
CXC3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 11-09-2007, 22:02
Alex91
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Blackpool! , UK
Posts: 8,367
Call your home phone (if you have one), let it ring for 1 ring then hang up (on your mobile).
Then dial 1471.

Ta-dah!
Alex91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:04
f@ithful
 
Posts: n/a
Call your home phone (if you have one), let it ring for 1 ring then hang up (on your mobile).
Then dial 1471.

Ta-dah!


With only one pence on though I don't think he will be able to call out. Normally to make a call you have to have so much airtime on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:04
CXC3000
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shire of York
Posts: 9,740
Call your home phone (if you have one), let it ring for 1 ring then hang up (on your mobile).
Then dial 1471.

Ta-dah!
Er, nearly

Thing is, I can't make a single call without topping up first.


(not much one can do with 1p these days)
CXC3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:05
Praxidike
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,104
Have a look at some options in the phone book, usually there's an option for "own number" which should tell you it.

Or just guess. Use another phone and type in 07000000001, 07000000002.... and keep going till you find your number!
Praxidike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:07
CXC3000
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shire of York
Posts: 9,740
Have a look at some options in the phone book, usually there's an option for "own number" which should tell you it.
Thanks. Will see what I can find.


Or just guess. Use another phone and type in 07000000001, 07000000002.... and keep going till you find your number!
Lol !
CXC3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:09
blueboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,052
For example, I have an extra SIM card (on Orange), but unfortunately with no paperwork etc.

The only credit on there is 1p which is pretty useless.

I know I would need to top up the card but is there any way of finding the number out without (topping up) ?
What phone manufacturer and model is the orange sim card going in?
blueboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:09
titchbaby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: titchy place in n yorkshire
Posts: 887
I am no wizz kid when it comes to mobile phones but try this:

Put the sim in your mobile
Go into Menu
Go into Contacts

(it may be in there under My number or something of that description)

Or if it gives you other options such as Names or My numbers

I am on O2 and this is how I get to it directly:
Menu
Scroll to....
Contacts
Scroll to....
My Numbers

My Mobile number is shown in there
titchbaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:11
chris2k2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9,345
Normally in the phone book, there is an option called my number

Also depending upon what phone you have, if you go to phone details it will display the number for you.

I have the k800i and going into phone details displays my number
chris2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:13
Tetramesh
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Meetjesland
Posts: 2,546
Dial 999, they should be able to tell you.
Tetramesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:14
coxy0211
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Road To Nowhere
Posts: 1,445
Call 450 and follow the options to activate the two 30 second reserve calls.
coxy0211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:15
enigma.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Strawberry Fields
Posts: 2,859
On a landlines you can ring a number and it tells you, but I cant remember the number. Just know I rang it accidentally rather than 1471.

I think it might have been 171.
enigma. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:16
jim_uk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Watford
Posts: 12,959
Normally in the phone book, there is an option called my number

Also depending upon what phone you have, if you go to phone details it will display the number for you.

I have the k800i and going into phone details displays my number
It's under phonebook on my orange D900, option 7.
jim_uk is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:21
antsmusic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 652
Dial 999, they should be
able to tell you.

LOL - Brilliant
antsmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:33
CXC3000
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shire of York
Posts: 9,740
What phone manufacturer and model is the orange sim card going in?
It's a Motorola V3


(and thanks to others who have responded so far as well)
CXC3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:36
Ricardodaforce
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alacant
Posts: 7,773
Technically the V3 isn't a mobile phone. It's a folding piece of buggy junk.
Ricardodaforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:39
HollyC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home, on my computer!
Posts: 5,419
You could try putting the sim card into the phone, switch the phone off and then switch it on again. I have a Motorola Razr and every time I switch my phone on, it displays my number for a few seconds.
HollyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:41
qualafoo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sofa / at my Desk
Posts: 844
put the sim card in a phone that has the "My number feature" a friend???
qualafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:45
CXC3000
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shire of York
Posts: 9,740
put the sim card in a phone that has the "My number feature" a friend???
Thanks, I'll see if I can give that a go.
CXC3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 22:45
jim_uk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Watford
Posts: 12,959
It's a Motorola V3


(and thanks to others who have responded so far as well)
Try settings>phone status>my numbers.
jim_uk is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 23:38
Jimmy Connors
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 78,765
Call this. *#100# Wait 10 seconds and the number appears.

Don't know if that's my provider or phone.
Jimmy Connors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 23:50
Pablo Diablo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,990
Call this. *#100# Wait 10 seconds and the number appears.

Don't know if that's my provider or phone.
I think that's just a Vodafone thing.
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 23:52
Jimmy Connors
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 78,765
I think that's just a Vodafone thing.
I think you're right. I just tried it on another phone and it did not work.
Jimmy Connors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 23:56
HollyC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home, on my computer!
Posts: 5,419
Have you tried switching the phone off, and then on with the sim card in?
HollyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2007, 00:00
malaikah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Not far enough
Posts: 11,940
Or just guess. Use another phone and type in 07000000001, 07000000002.... and keep going till you find your number!
LMAO!

Meanwhile, next century...
malaikah is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:23.