Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

How do i get McAfee??


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-09-2007, 11:23
jack_bauer87
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 157

Hey people i have recently signed up to sky broadband and im unsure of how to get McAfee. I actully already have it on a 12 month subscription which is due for renewal this month so i have the software already. Does this mean i just need a code of sky or what?
jack_bauer87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-09-2007, 15:51
Media bodkin
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 92
It is pre-loaded on the set-up cd you get with the router
Media bodkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2007, 11:08
El Guapo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 4,414
Better to load it from the Sky Broadband website as the version on the CD is old and not very good. The link on the website worked fine for me and it is the newer version.
El Guapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2007, 11:18
eddyj443
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Could you please provide a link to it on the sky broadband website? i cant seem to find it. Thanks Eddie
eddyj443 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2007, 12:40
Mikeyd127
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 276
You can download it from here

http://www.sky.com/portal/site/skyco...ontentid=60910
Mikeyd127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2007, 15:29
sasker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 717
Please Please Please do yourself a favour and don't get it.

Stay well clear from McAfee it is absolute pants the same as Norton is.

Both can really screw your system up if your not carefull.

Only want to offer my advice at the end of the day but you have been warned.
sasker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2007, 15:59
Mikeyd127
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 276
Please Please Please do yourself a favour and don't get it.

Stay well clear from McAfee it is absolute pants the same as Norton is.

Both can really screw your system up if your not carefull.

Only want to offer my advice at the end of the day but you have been warned.

Who would you use then?
Mikeyd127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2007, 16:10
realitybyte2
 
Posts: n/a
Who would you use then?
Ditto.

I spent 3 hours early this morning putting McAfee on my parents computer, and hooking them up to Sky. The software failed to installed correctly on four occasions...this was on a brand new computer.

To the OP: when u install it, try to do directly from the McAfee site rather than the Sky site.

I really didn't like putting it on their computer ...but what is a good the alternative?
  Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2007, 13:37
timcox3477
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 145
Use AVG free edition. Very good program, small tiny and not bloated. Sure it doesnt look as "pretty" but a lot more light wait and does the job.
timcox3477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2007, 13:49
pcbbc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London UK
Posts: 5,501
Use AVG free edition. Very good program, small tiny and not bloated. Sure it doesnt look as "pretty" but a lot more light wait and does the job.
Second that. Even automatically downloads free updates every day. AVG Free here.
And Zone Alarm Free if you need a firewall.
pcbbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2007, 15:30
El Guapo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 4,414
I use the Sky McAfee and it is fine. You just have to know how to use it. It gives good protection. Do you really think something that is 'free' is going to give you the same protection as a pay service?
El Guapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2007, 15:35
Godders
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
I use the Sky McAfee and it is fine. You just have to know how to use it. It gives good protection. Do you really think something that is 'free' is going to give you the same protection as a pay service?
Uh, in a word; yes!
Godders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2007, 21:51
timcox3477
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 145
Uh, in a word; yes!
Agreed! AVG free edition is a great free product and trust me if you use it you will never pay for a virus product again
timcox3477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2007, 08:10
El Guapo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 4,414
It does not give you firewall protection and the windows one is rubbish.
El Guapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2007, 09:23
timcox3477
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 145
It does not give you firewall protection and the windows one is rubbish.
Agreed about firewall (although the vista one is an improvement). Also as stated above get zone alarm. Also nothing really to worry about as the router is already a type of firewall.
timcox3477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2007, 10:21
Godders
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
It does not give you firewall protection and the windows one is rubbish.
Correct on both counts. But AVG or avast coupled with zone alarm or Sygate firewalls will give you just as good protection as macafee or norton (and they won't clog your machine up either).
Godders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2007, 10:33
El Guapo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 4,414
Correct on both counts. But AVG or avast coupled with zone alarm or Sygate firewalls will give you just as good protection as macafee or norton (and they won't clog your machine up either).
Fair enough. I have never had any problems with McAfee though. I guess you have to have a pretty good system to start with and make sure it is configured well. Having said that this newer version of McAfee seems a lot better than the old one. We use AVG at work and I hate the way the updates pop up when you are trying to write an email!
El Guapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2007, 13:36
Godders
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
I'm sure it works well but having to pay for it, having to have a well specced sytem just to run it properly (I do have an OK system but would rather the CPU/RAM resource was going elsewhere) and then having to spend time "configuring" it isn't for me.
Godders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2007, 13:50
El Guapo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 4,414
I'm sure it works well but having to pay for it, having to have a well specced sytem just to run it properly (I do have an OK system but would rather the CPU/RAM resource was going elsewhere) and then having to spend time "configuring" it isn't for me.
I got it free for a year so maybe I will change it to AVG next year! lol
El Guapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 01:32
jack_bauer87
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 157
Cheers for all the replies guys! i have to be honest and say that ive been really happy with mcaffee so ill probaly take up sky's 12 month offer as its pretty generous! ive heard good things about that avg software as well though so if i start to have problems i may turn to that!
jack_bauer87 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:30.