Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

change to virginmedia home page


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2007, 23:18
ufitm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: midlands
Posts: 211

Has any one else notice the change in the home page today , it now folds down from the left hand corner so far
down the page towards the bottom right hand corner,

saying welcome all new virginmedia,com coming soon>i wonder if it might mean we get new email address
ufitm is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-10-2007, 23:22
The Installer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 1,105
I prefer Google myself as it loads nice and quick without any rubbish on it
The Installer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 18:37
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,851
I have always used the VM (previously ntl) page as my homepage, but will stop doing so unless they fix that bug in the Google search bar that keeps inserting "Search for?" every time you try to copy & paste into it, mucking up your search.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 18:47
martymart
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 232
Doesn't look much different to the current page.
martymart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 21:27
DJDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wirral
Posts: 491
that's because it's the same page, the new look is coming soon.
DJDave is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 22:18
intheknow
Banned User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,837
I noticed most of the links don't work on the jobs page and some of the affiliate links are bad !
intheknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 22:29
Shepard
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 981
It could be in preparation for new virgin.com email addresses as its been ages now since the re-brand yet things are still ex telewest this and ex ntl that!

Would be easier to get rid of that and for us customers we would not have to think 'were we ex this or ex that'

Maybe they have been waiting for the billing systems to merge which is due to be done this week, although i believe not all of it as my ma gets a broadband bill from harmony and another on the new system as she was on the old icms database where broadband STILL gets billed separate and through the old ntl system
Shepard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 16:51
CABLEDUDE
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,126
Went on the virgin media homepage earlier, no change but then about 15 minutes later i went on and now its changes, quite speedy!
CABLEDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 16:53
gagde
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: staffs
Posts: 3,791
Went on the virgin media homepage earlier, no change but then about 15 minutes later i went on and now its changes, quite speedy!
Looks good sports part loads instantly now.
gagde is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 18:30
Woody_Enfield
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Enfield Lock
Posts: 2,954
Is Virgin a well known brand in the States?

I don't want my American friends thinking my email is now supplied by some kinky company!
Woody_Enfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 18:50
intheknow
Banned User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,837
Yes it is!
intheknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 19:22
Dante Ameche
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 18,956
Went on the virgin media homepage earlier, no change but then about 15 minutes later i went on and now its changes, quite speedy!
Doesn't look much different to me but then I don't visit it that often.

As for speed, it took forever for the links to work, videos playing even though I hadn't clicked on them and it crashed IE twice. Dare I try it in Opera?
Dante Ameche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 15:39
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,851
I have always used the VM (previously ntl) page as my homepage, but will stop doing so unless they fix that bug in the Google search bar that keeps inserting "Search for?" every time you try to copy & paste into it, mucking up your search.
Looks like the bug has been fixed.

I notice that they are using more of the page width now. That space down the left & right sides, which was previously used for advertising their football coverage, or for decorations (christmas, easter etc), is now being put to proper use.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:28.