Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Adding Norton Subscription to a second PC


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2007, 20:13
james payne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,056

Good evening to you all.

I recently upgraded my Norton Internet Security 2007 to the 2008 version. At the time I only had the one main PC , so only needed protection for said computer.

Through my work , I have now aquired a laptop. I have set up a wireless connection via Livebox to this. I notice that I have 80 days complimentary Norton subscription remaining on this.

What I would like to know is , whether Norton will allow me to now add the Norton Internet 2008 subscription I have , to this laptop aswell.

I know there are bundles/subscriptions that cover one or more pc's , however I must add that this is not what I originally took out. I'm now just wondering whether Norton will allow me to , or whether it's possible (for a price obviously) to now somehow extend the cover to my new laptop.

Many thaks for any help/advice.

Regards James

PS..Could we please not turn this into a Norton bashing thread. I know there are alternatives , however I've always been happy with it with no problems.
james payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-10-2007, 20:25
herbthesherb
 
Posts: n/a
Good evening to you all.

I recently upgraded my Norton Internet Security 2007 to the 2008 version. At the time I only had the one main PC , so only needed protection for said computer.

Through my work , I have now aquired a laptop. I have set up a wireless connection via Livebox to this. I notice that I have 80 days complimentary Norton subscription remaining on this.

What I would like to know is , whether Norton will allow me to now add the Norton Internet 2008 subscription I have , to this laptop aswell.

I know there are bundles/subscriptions that cover one or more pc's , however I must add that this is not what I originally took out. I'm now just wondering whether Norton will allow me to , or whether it's possible (for a price obviously) to now somehow extend the cover to my new laptop.

Many thaks for any help/advice.

Regards James

PS..Could we please not turn this into a Norton bashing thread. I know there are alternatives , however I've always been happy with it with no problems.
According to the adverts on Amazon, NIS 2008 is a 3 user licence. What I do not know is how you go about using it. Worth an email? I use NIS 2007 and am happy too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 20:27
alistairmck
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Greenock in Scotland
Posts: 293
Good evening to you all.

I recently upgraded my Norton Internet Security 2007 to the 2008 version. At the time I only had the one main PC , so only needed protection for said computer.

Through my work , I have now aquired a laptop. I have set up a wireless connection via Livebox to this. I notice that I have 80 days complimentary Norton subscription remaining on this.

What I would like to know is , whether Norton will allow me to now add the Norton Internet 2008 subscription I have , to this laptop aswell.

I know there are bundles/subscriptions that cover one or more pc's , however I must add that this is not what I originally took out. I'm now just wondering whether Norton will allow me to , or whether it's possible (for a price obviously) to now somehow extend the cover to my new laptop.

Many thaks for any help/advice.

Regards James

Hi, contact Symantec and explain your situation, and
They should give you a 15 digit code to add to your subscription via start up Norton product, click on Subscription from left hand side, click on second option and type in your code would should give you back your remaining days.

this is what happened to me, before I moved onto vista, I still had 85 days left on my NIS 2007 subscription on my XP PC, I install NIS 2008 on my Vista PC and contacted Symantec, explained my situation and they gave me a 15 digit code, type it into my 2008 product which gave me back my 85 days on top of my 365 days of subscription

hope this is of help to you
alistairmck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2007, 23:00
tvqueen1905
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 52,747
I am happy with NIS 2007 as well

when you install NIS onto a second pc the subscription is already activated

for example 360 day subscription

after 20 days you install NIS onto another PC you would only get 340 days for your new subscription as it has already been activated.
tvqueen1905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2007, 08:18
james payne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,056
How do you do it though if you downloaded the NIS 2008 via the download link on your main PC , & you haven't got the disc to do it.

Regards James
james payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2007, 08:54
herbthesherb
 
Posts: n/a
How do you do it though if you downloaded the NIS 2008 via the download link on your main PC , & you haven't got the disc to do it.

Regards James
Isn't the download saved onto disk in some obscure place?
  Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2007, 09:34
geraniums
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London
Posts: 50,250
How do you do it though if you downloaded the NIS 2008 via the download link on your main PC , & you haven't got the disc to do it.

Regards James

When you downloaded Norton you should have been sent a subscription code. On your laptop, just type the subscription code into the relevant section and you should get the download option once they verify the code.
geraniums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2007, 17:37
james payne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,056
When you downloaded Norton you should have been sent a subscription code. On your laptop, just type the subscription code into the relevant section and you should get the download option once they verify the code.
Yes I do have a product code/subscription key , however when I open up NIS on the laptop , & click on the subscription page , there are not enough boxes for me to type In the NIS 2008 code

Regards James
james payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2007, 18:54
james payne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,056
*Update*

After much persiverence , and trawling of the symentec site , I eventually found the info required to carry out the exercise. NIS 2008 is now successfully installed on my laptop.

Many thanks to all those who replied , & helped me with this.

Much appreciated.

Regards James
james payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:37
A.M
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North West England
Posts: 123
I've just upgraded to NIS2008 on my laptop , how do I get to install it on my husbands pc ?? I upgraded online so have no disk. It came with 1 User plus 2 Additional Bonus Installs
A.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 18:38
DEmmerson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Home Counties
Posts: 1,438
I find that with Norton products, it can be cheaper to buy the latest version than to renew the licence for last years!

I've seen NIS 2008 for 25 which is less than the renewal for N360.
DEmmerson is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:43.