Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Caller Id ...


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-10-2007, 19:06
SmellyCatPoo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 64

After months & months of asking, we finally got told that we could get caller id ... But .... in order for us to have it we must give up our discounts on our account ... What aload of tosh !! Soooo unfair ... The reason we have discounts on our account is because there service has been appalling, and they have tried to keep us sweet ... but this is utter crud .. ok rant over ... lol
SmellyCatPoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-10-2007, 20:58
LorenzoUK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 637
this really is a load of rubbish. If you are with VM, (old NTL) in Manchester, then there is absolutely not a snowballs in hell chance of us getting caller ID, reason being it is too expensive to upgrade the current system. Source: PA to the Chief Exec told me this several months ago, but not in the terms that I used. So I complained and then got more discount.
LorenzoUK is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2007, 08:25
tvtimes
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 8,972
Yep, my mother lives in Derby and she cannot get it either. It seems most if not all ex NTL areas don't get it.
tvtimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2007, 09:51
boyzie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: St Osyth
Posts: 3,086
Can't get it here either S.E.London!
boyzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2007, 18:41
kirks wig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunny Barnsley ex Mcr
Posts: 91
Old Nynex areas such as all of the North West including Derby use Nokia PDH cards that do not support Caller Display, there was talk along time ago of a flash upgrade to the cards but that would mean spending money
kirks wig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2007, 15:23
Kevin1960
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Turnford, ENGLAND
Posts: 2,637
I'm in East Herts, ex-NTL area, and I've had Caller Display since I joined them in June 2005
Kevin1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2007, 23:54
bb7crap
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 92

i live in manchester m23,and we have caller id.....
bb7crap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 13:58
SmellyCatPoo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 64
Well rang virgin again today, and i finally got caller id/display. . Discounts my bottom ... lol ... Now the discounts im was told i should be getting , wait for it ... im not .. lol
What aload of tosh !!!!
SmellyCatPoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 16:05
sherer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5,718
i'm just looking at getting this. Is there a charge for Caller IF or do I just ring up and get it enabled ?
sherer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 17:48
Pingu's Dad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 886
1.75 a month if memory serves.

It does... link-me-do
Pingu's Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 09:05
tvlooker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 215
Free on BT HeHe
tvlooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 20:53
Pingu's Dad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 886
Doesn't make it cheaper... I pay for call waiting but do I pay more for my phone package in the first place?
Pingu's Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 21:34
ntlhellworld
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,649
Doesn't make it cheaper...
No, BTs lower prices make it cheaper. Their free caller ID just adds insult to injury.

-Chris
ntlhellworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 00:57
TheFirstCut
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Proud European!
Posts: 7,123
Doesn't make it cheaper... I pay for call waiting but do I pay more for my phone package in the first place?
You pay more in call charges compared to BT and even more compared to the likes of 18185 and Primus that you could use from a BT line at no extra charge.

Though I managed to get Caller Display for free from VM by asking them.
TheFirstCut is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:30.