Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy

DS Forums

How much for a new clutch?

Old 22-11-2007, 12:15
Charlie Coo
Forum Member

Hi All,

Just wondered if any of you have had a new clutch fitted and how much it cost - want to check if I'm being ripped off (don't think I am but then I don't know much about it!)

Ta
C
Charlie Coo is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-11-2007, 12:17
A-Friend
Forum Member

Call a few different garages and ask them to quote you a price. If you want comments from here it will also help to tell us the car model and age. Check spares websites as well.
A-Friend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2007, 12:20
Charlie Coo
Forum Member

Thanks a friend - well it's a peugeot 106 and it's 12 years old. I've actually gone ahead and told them to do it (took it in for something else and they noticed it - I'm new to driving and just thought there was a high biting point) they're charging me 355 including labour - did they see me coming?
Old 22-11-2007, 12:22
stephenc40
Forum Member

they seen you coming i had a 106 quiksilver 2000 reg and i got mine for 110. im thinking yours would have been a bit cheaper because it was a bit older? you should have tried the back street garages! that is if they are only doing the clutch and nothing else
stephenc40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2007, 12:24
jasvinyl
Forum Member

Thanks a friend - well it's a peugeot 106 and it's 12 years old. I've actually gone ahead and told them to do it (took it in for something else and they noticed it - I'm new to driving and just thought there was a high biting point) they're charging me 355 including labour - did they see me coming?

Hmmm, seems a bit high to me. We had ours done the other week, on a less common model of car (Fiat Doblo) and it was 230.00 all in. Still, the quotes we got ranged as high as 700+
jasvinyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2007, 12:29
Charlie Coo
Forum Member