Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

iphone WiFi password


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2007, 21:28
skreepers
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,321

probably a dumb question but ive just got an iphone and as i go to look at the safari internet it tracks down the sky internet id code in my house and then asks me for a password. the problem is i dont know what this password is.

can anyone help me by telling me where i could find out what this password is? does everybody get asked for a password or a code or something?

thanks in advance.
skreepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-12-2007, 21:49
Tenacious Pee
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,088
When yo got your sky broadband you should of also received a little credit card sized piece of paper

Which will have the SSID, The Network Key (password) and Channel

This is the default for the router, you can change these settings in the routers own pages via 192.168.0.1 (this is the homepage of the netgear sky branded router, other sky routers may differ)
Tenacious Pee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 22:10
skreepers
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,321
thank you loads tenacious pee . im not at home right now to try it but does that mean that once i write in the network key under the SSID that i will have full access to the internet from then on? is that all i have to do?

thanks again.
skreepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 22:35
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,865
If you cannot find the card I think it's printed under the router.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 23:04
Tenacious Pee
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,088
thank you loads tenacious pee . im not at home right now to try it but does that mean that once i write in the network key under the SSID that i will have full access to the internet from then on? is that all i have to do?

thanks again.
I havent used an ipod touch, but pretty much as soon as you do that it should work
Tenacious Pee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 12:49
hyperlogic18
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London
Posts: 236
It's printed on the back of your router under Network Key. Remember to use upper case to enter the PW on your iPhone (using the up arrow) it took me a few goes to realise what i was doing wrong
hyperlogic18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 23:21
darkknight77
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chelmsford
Posts: 3,234
probably a dumb question but ive just got an iphone and as i go to look at the safari internet it tracks down the sky internet id code in my house and then asks me for a password. the problem is i dont know what this password is.

can anyone help me by telling me where i could find out what this password is? does everybody get asked for a password or a code or something?

thanks in advance.
It will be printed on a label under your Netgear Router. You must have entered this into your computer too when you set it up, you have just forgotten.
darkknight77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 11:26
skreepers
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,321
thanks everyone i found the network key under the router and got the internet going!

iphone is amazing!!
skreepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009, 10:32
francis7
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 498
I put in what I thought was my Wi-Fi router password into my new iPhone but it was incorrect and I can't seem to access the Wi-Fi on my phone.

Also I can't see how to input the correct password as it doesn't actually now tell me the password was incorrect and offer me the chance to input it again.

Any ideas?
francis7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009, 10:52
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
i can help you find the password, but i don't know how to tell you to input it.

to do that it would be useful to know as much as you can tell me about your broadband provider, or what make your router is, and what operating system you use on your home computer.

who set up your wifi? is it possible that the password is incorrect but the router is set to not allow new connections?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2009, 10:58
francis7
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 498
I use BT Broadband and have a home hub. I use Vista. There is a password set on it so my neighbours can't use my broadband. My main issue is that I am pretty sure I put the wrong password into my iPhone settings, it isn't connecting to wi-fi (I know this as I tried to access a programme on the BBC iPlayer last night and it said I need to connect to a wi-fi network so I must have been on roaming). I need to know how to be able to input a password in the Network settings again.
francis7 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:21.