Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Help! Super slow speeds on AOL


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-12-2007, 15:06
leejaxxin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 82

As of yesterday my broadband has been running incredibly slow, when i do a speedtest at speedtester.bt.com i get a 117kbps even though im connected at around 7900kbps, ive went through all my Router settings (netgear DG834G v3) and still no joy. On phone to tech support just now but level 2 cant make much sense of it either.

Can anyone help?
leejaxxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-12-2007, 16:06
granadatvman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,036
As of yesterday my broadband has been running incredibly slow, when i do a speedtest at speedtester.bt.com i get a 117kbps even though im connected at around 7900kbps, ive went through all my Router settings (netgear DG834G v3) and still no joy. On phone to tech support just now but level 2 cant make much sense of it either.

Can anyone help?

theyre probably throttling your speed like theyre doing with everyone

jumping ship is my advice
granadatvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2007, 16:13
leejaxxin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 82
Not really the help i was looking for.

No need to jump ship, been with AOL for years and never had a problem before.
The tech said they will contact BT to check the line as they cannot see a problem from their end and the line is working fine.
leejaxxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2007, 16:16
granadatvman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,036
Not really the help i was looking for.

No need to jump ship, been with AOL for years and never had a problem before.
The tech said they will contact BT to check the line as they cannot see a problem from their end and the line is working fine.
they wouldn't see traffic shaping your internet as abnormal and everything would be working fine

could be a phone line problem, wait and see if you get anything back.

is your phone line crackly at all and how far are you from the exchange?

www.samknows.com will help you answer the second part of my question
granadatvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2007, 16:22
leejaxxin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 82
less than 1km, my router is connected at full speed just something seems to be restricting it, all lines are fine no static noise on phone, its strange to say the least.
leejaxxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2007, 18:16
granadatvman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,036
how is your computer connected to the router?

which operating system are you using?
granadatvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2007, 16:26
leejaxxin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 82
using xp and connected by ethernet, still same speeds today.
leejaxxin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:27.