Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sky+ Box won't turn on


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2008, 11:40
bk2006
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,034

Hello

Last night my sky+ was working fine then it turned itself off and i have not been able to get it on since!

I have tried turning it on via the box , remote etc... even switched it off at the wall for a good few hours NOTHING ... the red light still displays on the box but won't turn green.

Normally if the box does go off it goes to a blue sky screen however this time its just a load of fuzz like the sky is not connected to the TV ... but it is ... every wire is firmly in place and taken out and put back in.

hmm i think the box might have gone which is annoying .... had it a good few years though.

Thanks
bk2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-01-2008, 13:47
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,872
Usually a sign of either
Failed hard disk (most likely and easy to replace)
or Failing power supply
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 18:38
kiwidude
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Interesting... at exactly 10pm last night my Sky+ box turned itself off too (while I was trying to watch something and had two recordings in progress). No amount of powering off/on would coax it to give me anything but a blue screen. I phoned Sky and got no better result, resulting in scheduling an engineer to come tomorrow.

On a punt I powered the box off overnight then switched it on this morning. Like a phoenix from the ashes it seems to all be working fine now - cancelled the engineer and back in business.

It's an unreliable piece of **** which could (and should) so easily be improved in so many ways if Sky could be bothered, which clearly they can't be. Unfortunately if you want the Sky channels you have no option but to put up with it's long list of faults and foibles, setting stuff up to record multiple times for one of the inevitable failures etc. Nice when it works, frustrating as hell when it far too frequently doesn't...
kiwidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 16:18
Tiffani
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,911
The problem with Sky boxes is they are so unpredictable everything can be fine then suddenly it just switches itself off. I have never had problems like this with my freeview box which is cheap quality but at least it is reliable unlike Sky plus. I think they must be very badly made cos so many people have problems with them or have to get them replaced.
Tiffani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2008, 17:59
blackwater
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 21
Apparently the cure for this is as follows;

Switch the box off at the mains,
Disconnect dish input one at the back of the box
Wait 10 seconds
Reconnect dish input one
switch on at mains
(box should be back in standby)
Wait 1 minute
Press 'Sky' button on remote
blackwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2008, 18:22
tessbabexxx
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Larbert, Scotland
Posts: 40
try software update procedure:

switch box off at the mains
press and hold the back up button
switch power back whilst holding the back up button
you will see the red light come on first then
after a few secs you should see all 4 lights on the front on the box and a message will appear on your screen saying

"updating system software please do not disconnect from mains supply or satellite dish this may take up to 10 mins"

after up to 10 mins box will switch back onto standby
leave it for 90 seconds then press the tv button and then the sky button on your remote control

if the box doesn't come back on then it's a fault with the box
tessbabexxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2010, 08:20
RodBell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newton-Le-Willows
Posts: 15
Thank you for this.

Walked into the room and the Sky box wasn't responding at all. The my little ones told me that the button went blue, the screen fuzzy and it went off.

I switched it off at the mains no response from the on/off button. I told the girls Sky was broke. If they knew the words "Your f**king joking!" they would have said it, but being 5 and 6 I was saved from that.

Came here read the disconnect the dish and it now works.

YAY!!

Thanks
RodBell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2012, 18:16
Lannoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
try software update procedure:

switch box off at the mains
press and hold the back up button
switch power back whilst holding the back up button
you will see the red light come on first then
after a few secs you should see all 4 lights on the front on the box and a message will appear on your screen saying

"updating system software please do not disconnect from mains supply or satellite dish this may take up to 10 mins"

after up to 10 mins box will switch back onto standby
leave it for 90 seconds then press the tv button and then the sky button on your remote control

if the box doesn't come back on then it's a fault with the box
Thanks for that, it worked for me.
I tried, previously, another suggestion to do with holding in the left and right buttons, I can't recall the rest, and that didn't work.
On calling Sky to complain about the garbage equipment, I was told that the holding in left and right buttons will wipe all saved recordings and delete the Anytime settings also!
Beware!
Lannoy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:03.