Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

O2 Wireless Box


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2008, 20:17
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702

I have just orderd my O2 package after years of crap from Tiscali

This may be a stupid question but

can I 'wire up' my wireless box when I get it or do I have to go 100% wireless with it
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-02-2008, 20:23
Carmen Queasy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middesbrough (via Manchester)
Posts: 37,343
Yes, you can connect using Ethernet cables rather than wireless if you want to (or both).
Carmen Queasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 20:25
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
Yes, you can connect using Ethernet cables rather than wireless if you want to (or both).
Thanks

Woo Hoo

I will have my PS3 Wireless and PC Wired
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 00:14
Rowdy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 5,016
You can use USB as well, if you're stuck.
Rowdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 07:34
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
You can use USB as well, if you're stuck.
so I could do my preferred method which would be

USB - PC
Ethernet - PS3

as you can tell I don't like wireless
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 08:42
sodafountain
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9,745
so I could do my preferred method which would be

USB - PC
Ethernet - PS3

as you can tell I don't like wireless
Is it not a router you get? most usually have 4 ethernet ports on them (much better than USB).

PS - the info on their website even says you don't have to go wireless, see you looked first lol

http://broadband.o2.co.uk/wireless.jsp
sodafountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 08:56
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
oddly I built my PC myself and I don't have a network card, been using USB for internet connection on my current router, does the wireless box allow for USB use, i imagine it would do because it needs configuring via USB when it gets installed, or does it
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 11:32
organiclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,577
I use o2 broadband and it is fantastic, i've actually been using it since June or July last year when i was with Be, obviously they are the same company.

You dont have to use the o2 broadband box if you dont want to, i am happily using my netgear dg834n which is fantastic. If you want to use another modem and need to know how to set it up drop me a pm
organiclive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 13:51
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
If its the O2 Wireless box is the [SIZE=2]Thomson 780 Router then I can connect the PC via USB(for internet) and PS3 via ethernet[/SIZE]

[SIZE=2]Can anyone confirm this?[/SIZE]
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 13:54
organiclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,577
The wireless box has 4 ethernet ports on it, and a usb port, and two other ones for voice over ip
organiclive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 14:00
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
The wireless box has 4 ethernet ports on it, and a usb port, and two other ones for voice over ip
cheers, i am just worried cos I don't have an ethernet port in my PC, just USB,

Phew
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 14:01
organiclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,577
no probs.

I've still got my wireless box sitting under my bed in its box i've no intention of using it.

When do you go live?
organiclive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 17:18
GTL
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 491
If its the O2 Wireless box is the [SIZE=2]Thomson 780 Router then I can connect the PC via USB(for internet) and PS3 via ethernet[/SIZE]

[SIZE=2]Can anyone confirm this?[/SIZE]
It's an O2 badged ST780WL.

4 ethernet ports, 1 USB port, 802.11 b/g and a (not yet activated) VOIP port.

You can read/download the user guide from o2.co.uk. Search broadband help.
GTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 17:54
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
no probs.

I've still got my wireless box sitting under my bed in its box i've no intention of using it.

When do you go live?
20th Feb, cant wait
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 17:56
organiclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,577
You'll really enjoy the service, its fantastic. The one thing i have only to complain about is the temporary dns problems that you get every now and again.

Its not that bad you cant use the service, its just every now & again. There probably just making improvements.

I dont use their service dns anymore i use the opendns settings.

Still dont panic its a fantastic service still, and not really any bandwith issues. I've used loads and loads
organiclive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 18:03
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
anything is better than Tiscali, I have been impressed with o2's customer service so far, very friendly and helpful
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2008, 19:00
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26,109
Note the USB is usbport (12Mbps)
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2008, 02:48
blueacid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,335
A PCI network card would cost around 10, and would give you better speeds - as was correctly stated, its throughput is 12mbit; if your broadband connection is near or above this, you'll be being held back by your computer's USB connection.

I'd strongly suggest you get a PCI network card, and then use that
blueacid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2008, 02:50
blueacid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,335
http://www.microdirect.co.uk/(14971)...-PCI-Card.aspx

^^ for example, this would be a good move! (obviously, shop around! This was a 2min google search)
blueacid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2008, 12:48
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
Does the CD have the drivers for the Router cos I am using USB, I have just rang O2 and have said they dont provide support for me when I go down the USB road

I will buy a wifi dongle though If I have to, I dont want a network card
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2008, 13:33
sodafountain
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 9,745
Does the CD have the drivers for the Router cos I am using USB, I have just rang O2 and have said they dont provide support for me when I go down the USB road

I will buy a wifi dongle though If I have to, I dont want a network card
Any reason you don't want a network card?

It'll be much faster than USB, and can see no reason why you wouldn't want to.
sodafountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2008, 06:46
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
I bought a network card if any thing to save the hassle

only to find the network cable O2 gave me was duff, I am now online though and enjoying the fast speeds
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2008, 15:02
RobAnt
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South West
Posts: 10,218
You might find that using USB disables the onboard wireless and 4 port switch. I don't know for certain, but I would seriously reconsider using USB anyway. Apart from requiring drivers, which would be supplied in the box on CD, USB also requires the CPU to do some relatively serious processing, when compared with a NIC (Network Interface Card).
RobAnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2008, 18:28
Longboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 2,702
Well chuffed with o2 so far. I have a o2 pay and go phone and have had a further 5 knocked off the price every month(which is a new policy as of today)

10 a month for up to 16mb connection

Bravo
Longboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2008, 19:11
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26,109
Well chuffed with o2 so far. I have a o2 pay and go phone and have had a further 5 knocked off the price every month(which is a new policy as of today)

10 a month for up to 16mb connection

Bravo
REally?? its on PAYG now too ??

EDIT: just reading on it now.
I'm quite interested in this.
I am with Be* and I wouldnt even have to see out my contract to switch to O2 as O2 own Be*.

I'd plump for the up to 16mb service at 10 (for my needs)

I get 23mb out of my up to 24 with Be* just now but the net as it stands just now doesnt really warrant that speed.

Need to seriously consider this deal.
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:39.