Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Wheat-Free alcoholic drinks


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-02-2008, 23:43
Arid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
Posts: 136

Hi people!
I've have a wheat intolerance and was wondering if people had any ideas about which drinks don't contain wheat. I know you can mail order specialist food and drink, but I'm talking about things that you can get in the pub.
So far, I know that wines and brandy are ok, but the only beer that I know about for certain is Budweiser. Does anyone know of anything else that should be safe for me to drink

Thanks
Arid is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-02-2008, 10:58
Espresso
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15,653
There is no wheat in cider and if you can drink wine and brandy, then port and sherry are OK too.
Espresso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2008, 19:14
Arid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
Posts: 136
Thanks for that. I knew about cider, but hadn't thought about the other two! Not sure how often I'll be on the sherry, though...
Arid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2008, 23:09
ff999
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Middlesex
Posts: 4,451
And if you want to order some to have at home, try these people (you can also buy them in Waitrose)
http://www.glutenfreebeers.co.uk/
My Dad uses them (he's a coeliac), and really likes the beers.
ff999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2008, 00:15
Ambassador
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wooler, Northumberlandiana
Posts: 21,646
Whiskey is gluten free (contrary to popular opinion) though the only definitive derivative of gluten free whiskey is Scottish

Jack Daniels and most other bourbons are gluten free

All wine

Generally most spirits

All the ciders

Guinness (from Nigeria only )

Selected Sainsburys and House Of Fraser/Binns/John Lewis/Fenwick sell gluten free beers and lagers but a quick google brings a lot up

Obviously there's a premium on it but there is with the food too
Ambassador is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2008, 11:04
grassmarket
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 16,120
Easier to list the ones that ARE made with wheat.

Gin
Vodka

Can't think of any others. I'll add that rum is made from sugar, so that is safe.

Martin
grassmarket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2008, 11:15
stvn758
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15,500
Rum is made from sugar and generally wonderful, relatively speaking - all tastes like crap to me.

Lots of brightly colored alcopops made from it - Bacardi Breezer Blueberry is nice.
stvn758 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2008, 15:06
Arid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
Posts: 136
Lots of really good stuff on here. I'm fine with gluten, it seems to be wheat in particular that causes the problem.
I don't think I'm anywhere near desperate enough to start on the bacardi breezers yet
Arid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2008, 18:39
diablo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fylde Coast
Posts: 7,887
Young's Bitter and Special are both 100% malted barley, so should be okay.
diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2008, 18:59
urbanmiffed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In Your Wheelibin. Help!!
Posts: 2,395
Rum is made from sugar and generally wonderful, relatively speaking - all tastes like crap to me.

Lots of brightly colored alcopops made from it - Bacardi Breezer Blueberry is nice.
Cuba Libra would appear to be the obvious one, Lime is not optional

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cuba_Libre
urbanmiffed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2008, 01:29
Ambassador
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wooler, Northumberlandiana
Posts: 21,646
Young's Bitter and Special are both 100% malted barley, so should be okay.
Requires a bit of caution as people with wheat sensitivity often have similar problems with barley
Ambassador is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2008, 03:34
diablo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fylde Coast
Posts: 7,887
Requires a bit of caution as people with wheat sensitivity often have similar problems with barley
I noted that the OP had said he was okay with Budweiser which is also made with malted barley.

I'd imagine that the OP would be okay with any beers made to the German Reinheitsgebot standard, which do not allow wheat to be used.
diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2008, 23:50
Arid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
Posts: 136
I put quite a few of these to the test last night and apart from a killer hangover, your suggestions have all been pretty good.
Arid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2008, 20:55
job
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,502
Whiskey is gluten free (contrary to popular opinion) though the only definitive derivative of gluten free whiskey is Scottish

Jack Daniels and most other bourbons are gluten free
Yes, John Daniels is gluten free.
job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2008, 23:12
Arid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London
Posts: 136
Does anyone know if there are any drinks companies that list their ingredients on their websites? It would be good to know about some of the less definite drinks e.g. Vodka, where ingredients can depend on the brand. So far, I haven't even been able to find out about any big name beers or lagers, I'm assuming that this is due to protection of the product?
Arid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 07:02
MrsSpoon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12,363
So it seems by these answers that it is just beers and lagers that are wheat free then?

I am on the Atkins diet except for wine because...well... I can't give that up as well.
MrsSpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2010, 04:56
julian carlyle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Hello because of new production methods the newest gluten free beers ,which are also wheat free taste as good as "regular" beer .The ones to try are Estrella Damm DAURA , AMBAR and GREENS PREMIUM PILS .
julian carlyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2010, 16:51
stripedcat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,200
Sainsbury's do a gluten free beer called "Taylor's Tipple".
stripedcat is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:15.