Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sky Broadband for gaming??


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-02-2008, 21:27
stargni
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 55

Hi,

Im currently a BT option 3 customer and after reading http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/02...a_summer_2007/ I really want to change my provider. I have been with virgin before and swore never again. So therefore considering changing to Sky but my biggest concern is how does Sky perform with online gaming eg Xbox 360, Warcraft.

thanks
SG
stargni is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-02-2008, 23:08
KKoala
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 142
Good I think! There were some problems in the early days with high pings and Sky didn't want to know, but I believe they will now tune the connection for lower pings for anyone who has any issues with gaming. Do a search for "gaming" on skyuser.co.uk, all the info should be there.
KKoala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2008, 02:07
Matt D
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 11,418
It's absolutely fine for me, for Xbox Live.

Been playing a lot of COD4 recently on my Sky BB connection, & not had any problems.
Matt D is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2008, 08:06
fozzy2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Creswell
Posts: 139
Ive just got it and me and my mate both played halo online on the same box with no problem and i even played on one of the big maps with 16 players.
fozzy2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 12:56
jonspurs
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 107
What are your pings to www.bbc.co.uk and www.jolt.co.uk ?

Thanks,
Jon
jonspurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 13:41
Nevland
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
I play:

An MMO on my PC.
Various Games on Xbox live.

All fine.
Nevland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 13:44
jon_ellacott
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Croydon, Surrey
Posts: 1,004
I play my PS2 games online and I have a 16mb connection through Sky. I have no problems at all, and I had plenty of problems when I was on Tiscali!!
jon_ellacott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 16:04
Spooksman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 293
I have two xbox 360's playing on live at the same time without any problems. My missus even browses the net while me and my son play without us noticing.

We only have an 8Mb connection - never had an issue.

spooks
Spooksman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 21:30
jonspurs
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 107
Cool...but what are your pings?

Jon
jonspurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 18:47
LinkinFighter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,093
No problems whatsoever
LinkinFighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2008, 14:26
NightHawk123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London
Posts: 3,105
I'm on Sky BB Base and only recently started online gaming. No lag whatsoever, excellent connection with both PS3 and Wii. Couldn't recommend it enough.

For those that are having problems I recommend calling your ISP and telling them the problems you're having and to reduce your ping
NightHawk123 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:57.