Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Is there any difference between pc2-4200 and pc2-4200s ram?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-04-2008, 21:49
smegbot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 241

Thinking about upgrading the ram in my laptop - I have 2 x 512mb sticks of pc2-4200s at the moment and want 2 x 1gb - I have found loads of pc2-4200 on tinternet but despite googling cannot see if there is any difference between the two - anyone have any ideas?
smegbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-04-2008, 21:52
Gogfumble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Swashbuckling on Melee Island.
Posts: 20,162
Go to this site and do a scan, it will tell you what memory you need. I couldn't tell you if there is a difference between the two as I have never heard of 4200s.

http://www.crucial.com/uk/
Gogfumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2008, 21:55
smegbot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 241
Thanks for that, I have already been to crucial but they don't list my laptop model number unfortunately, I have looked at similar ones but didn't find any using the same ram..any other ideas anyone?
smegbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2008, 22:00
Gogfumble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Swashbuckling on Melee Island.
Posts: 20,162
Have you done the scan rather than just trying to select your laptop model? They might not have your model listed but the scan might still work.

What laptop do you have?
Gogfumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2008, 22:02
smegbot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 241
Yes I did the scan anyway and it still could not determine the model although it did identify the motherboard - anyway its a Packard Bell Easynote MZ35-U0005
smegbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2008, 22:09
Gogfumble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Swashbuckling on Melee Island.
Posts: 20,162
ooh, packard bell.. you have my sympathy

From the PB website:

System Memory
SO-DIMM (Small Outline Dual Inline Memory Module), 2 banks.
Supports 2 GB RAM (max.), using 1 GB DDR2 SO-DIMMs.
Supports DDR2-533 memory modules.
Supports Dual Channel operation.

http://support.packardbell.com/uk/it...ppn=PB77Q02401

so this should be compatible: http://www.ebuyer.com/product/83934
Gogfumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2008, 08:44
smegbot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 241
ooh, packard bell.. you have my sympathy

From the PB website:

System Memory
SO-DIMM (Small Outline Dual Inline Memory Module), 2 banks.
Supports 2 GB RAM (max.), using 1 GB DDR2 SO-DIMMs.
Supports DDR2-533 memory modules.
Supports Dual Channel operation.

http://support.packardbell.com/uk/it...ppn=PB77Q02401

so this should be compatible: http://www.ebuyer.com/product/83934
Yes I know cr@pard hell lol

Thanks for that, it was the mem I suspected just didn't know if the "s" was relevant, cheers!
smegbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2008, 08:48
tuppy26
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Kent
Posts: 3,612
Well Ive got a http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWN:IT&ih=013 going spare if you wanted to try it (I needed 3200 ram which Cardbus kindly gave me, so have this sitting about) ok its not 1gb but you can still have it lol
tuppy26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2008, 08:53
smegbot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 241
Well Ive got a http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MEWN:IT&ih=013 going spare if you wanted to try it (I needed 3200 ram which Cardbus kindly gave me, so have this sitting about) ok its not 1gb but you can still have it lol
Hi there, thanks very much for the offer but I need 200 pin rather than 240
smegbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2008, 08:58
tuppy26
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Kent
Posts: 3,612
Ah, ok no worries
tuppy26 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07.