Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sky Zone 1 or Sky Zone 2


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2008, 03:51
hotlips69
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hove, East Sussex
Posts: 271

What is the difference between Sky Zone 1 & Sky Zone 2 ?

Do you need a different sized dish for each or is that the main difference??
hotlips69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 11-05-2008, 09:09
davesull
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,665
A Zone 1 dish is 43cm high and suitable for England and Wales. Scotland is further from the centre of the signal footprint and therefore needs a larger dish, which is what Zone 2 is (60cm)
davesull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 09:11
Sam Radford.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N Yorks
Posts: 13,712
A zone 2 dish will give a better "rain margin" than a zone 1 dish.
Sam Radford. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 13:50
hotlips69
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hove, East Sussex
Posts: 271
A zone 2 dish will give a better "rain margin" than a zone 1 dish.
Can you please explain this "rain margin" ?

Will a zone 2 dish give a stronger signal than a zone 1 dish with an octo-LNB?
hotlips69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 14:05
davesull
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,665
It has greater gathering power and therefore, yes, it must give you a more robust signal. That's what Sam meant by a better rain margin. Rain, and other weather conditions, can disrupt a satellite signal and a larger dish will usually compensate for that.

As for an octo LNB, Sam will have a better understanding of the internal workings of an LNB than I do, but as I said at the start, a larger dish will generally (not always) out-perform a smaller dish.
davesull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 07:24
NEWLINEtv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,279
It has greater gathering power and therefore, yes, it must give you a more robust signal. That's what Sam meant by a better rain margin. Rain, and other weather conditions, can disrupt a satellite signal and a larger dish will usually compensate for that.

As for an octo LNB, Sam will have a better understanding of the internal workings of an LNB than I do, but as I said at the start, a larger dish will generally (not always) out-perform a smaller dish.
I take it Virgin Media and Tiscali must have large dishes then?
NEWLINEtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 08:14
TheFirstCut
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Proud European!
Posts: 7,123
I take it Virgin Media and Tiscali must have large dishes then?
For the channels they take off satellite, yes they have fairly large dishes, though they still suffer from rain fade.
TheFirstCut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 09:35
big_hard_lad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland
Posts: 4,011
A Zone 1 dish is 43cm high and suitable for England and Wales. Scotland is further from the centre of the signal footprint and therefore needs a larger dish, which is what Zone 2 is (60cm)
Northern Ireland (and presumably the ROI as well) is also in Zone 2.
big_hard_lad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 13:28
wod1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: west yorkshire
Posts: 6,079
and also northern france and belguim/holland a zone 2 dish works well lol
wod1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 20:29
davesull
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,665
and also northern france and belguim/holland a zone 2 dish works well lol
But not needed - a Zone 1 will do the job
davesull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 09:20
cowman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BALLYCASTLE N IRELAND
Posts: 359
Northern Ireland (and presumably the ROI as well) is also in Zone 2.
Yes, the Zone 2 dish is considerably bigger than the Zone 1 I notice this when I am in the South of England how small the dishes are.
cowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2014, 23:25
redcar1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Redcar, N. Yorks
Posts: 1,770
I think I should have been given a Zone 2 dish as my Sky viewing is disrupted whenever it rains heavily. According to Wikipedia they should be used in N England, not just Wales, Scotland and Ireland (both N and the Republic).

Perhaps they don't use them in the NE of England as it's a low rainfall area, but heavy summer showers can be a problem.
redcar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2014, 23:59
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 21,620
Perhaps the easiest thing to do would be to show a guideline map such as this one here: http://www.listingfactoryhost.com/us.../map2_9613.png
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2014, 13:17
BrianWescombe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 875
Sky gave me a Zone 2 dish when I was having signal problems, I live in Southern England (Wiltshire)
BrianWescombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2014, 14:01
CRTHD
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lat: 52.666; Long: -1.2833
Posts: 4,940
Given the cost difference, just get a Zone 2 and be done with it.

I installed a Raven dish about 4/5 years ago (25-ish on Ebay). No rain-fade since.
CRTHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2014, 15:17
westone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St Ives, Cornwall
Posts: 44
We use a Zone2 dish in Cornwall
westone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2014, 15:56
teletv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 819
I use a zone 2 dish in Birmingham, rain doesn't knock it out, big electrical storms will, and snow, but never rain
teletv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2014, 19:34
Dave-H
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West London
Posts: 5,788
I use one in London, and very rarely do I lose signal.
Hail is the very worst, even a small amount is like putting a metal dustbin lid over the front of the dish!
Dave-H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 11:46
Stuey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 596
Zone 1 up here in Liverpool.

Out of interest how easy is it to upgrade a zone 1 to a 2? ie. is it possible to keep the original brackets on the wall and just replace the dish facia and arm etc?
Stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 12:33
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,968
Given the cost difference, just get a Zone 2 and be done with it.

I installed a Raven dish about 4/5 years ago (25-ish on Ebay). No rain-fade since.
My signal keeps going off on France 24 channels in the rain on my zone 2 dish here yet it shows this in fine weather
https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3883/...72445ebb_o.jpg
Its happened about 4 times in the last few months in heavy rain.
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 12:36
CRTHD
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lat: 52.666; Long: -1.2833
Posts: 4,940
Zone 1 up here in Liverpool.

Out of interest how easy is it to upgrade a zone 1 to a 2? ie. is it possible to keep the original brackets on the wall and just replace the dish facia and arm etc?
It's a while since I did mine, so I'm not too sure. (Mine is mounted on a pole anyway).

I would think that, if possible, it's best to replace all components while you're at it (corrosion).

I appreciate that in a lot of cases, the dish can be challenging to access safely.
CRTHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 12:43
CRTHD
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lat: 52.666; Long: -1.2833
Posts: 4,940
My signal keeps going off on France 24 channels in the rain on my zone 2 dish here yet it shows this in fine weather
https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3883/...72445ebb_o.jpg
Its happened about 4 times in the last few months in heavy rain.
I see France 24 is on Eutelsat 28.5 (rather than Astra 28.2), so it may be worth re-aligning / optimising the dish for both?

11426 V

Do you have problems with any of the other channels on Eutelsat?
CRTHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 13:07
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,968
Only in heavy rain.
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:25.