Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sky Zone 1 or Sky Zone 2


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2008, 03:51
hotlips69
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hove, East Sussex
Posts: 271

What is the difference between Sky Zone 1 & Sky Zone 2 ?

Do you need a different sized dish for each or is that the main difference??
hotlips69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 11-05-2008, 09:09
davesull
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,663
A Zone 1 dish is 43cm high and suitable for England and Wales. Scotland is further from the centre of the signal footprint and therefore needs a larger dish, which is what Zone 2 is (60cm)
davesull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 09:11
Sam Radford.
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N Yorks
Posts: 13,712
A zone 2 dish will give a better "rain margin" than a zone 1 dish.
Sam Radford. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 13:50
hotlips69
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hove, East Sussex
Posts: 271
A zone 2 dish will give a better "rain margin" than a zone 1 dish.
Can you please explain this "rain margin" ?

Will a zone 2 dish give a stronger signal than a zone 1 dish with an octo-LNB?
hotlips69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 14:05
davesull
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,663
It has greater gathering power and therefore, yes, it must give you a more robust signal. That's what Sam meant by a better rain margin. Rain, and other weather conditions, can disrupt a satellite signal and a larger dish will usually compensate for that.

As for an octo LNB, Sam will have a better understanding of the internal workings of an LNB than I do, but as I said at the start, a larger dish will generally (not always) out-perform a smaller dish.
davesull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 07:24
NEWLINEtv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,279
It has greater gathering power and therefore, yes, it must give you a more robust signal. That's what Sam meant by a better rain margin. Rain, and other weather conditions, can disrupt a satellite signal and a larger dish will usually compensate for that.

As for an octo LNB, Sam will have a better understanding of the internal workings of an LNB than I do, but as I said at the start, a larger dish will generally (not always) out-perform a smaller dish.
I take it Virgin Media and Tiscali must have large dishes then?
NEWLINEtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 08:14
TheFirstCut
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Proud European!
Posts: 7,123
I take it Virgin Media and Tiscali must have large dishes then?
For the channels they take off satellite, yes they have fairly large dishes, though they still suffer from rain fade.
TheFirstCut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 09:35
big_hard_lad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland
Posts: 4,011
A Zone 1 dish is 43cm high and suitable for England and Wales. Scotland is further from the centre of the signal footprint and therefore needs a larger dish, which is what Zone 2 is (60cm)
Northern Ireland (and presumably the ROI as well) is also in Zone 2.
big_hard_lad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 13:28
wod1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: west yorkshire
Posts: 6,079
and also northern france and belguim/holland a zone 2 dish works well lol
wod1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 20:29
davesull
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,663
and also northern france and belguim/holland a zone 2 dish works well lol
But not needed - a Zone 1 will do the job
davesull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2008, 09:20
cowman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: BALLYCASTLE N IRELAND
Posts: 359
Northern Ireland (and presumably the ROI as well) is also in Zone 2.
Yes, the Zone 2 dish is considerably bigger than the Zone 1 I notice this when I am in the South of England how small the dishes are.
cowman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:38.