Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

freesat and portugal


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-05-2008, 19:29
fjab
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2

firsttime here and I'm so not technical I'm hoping some-one can help as I will have to convey the correct information to the installation company in Portugal.
We have an apartment in Portugal and we would like to be able to receive the recently launched bbc freesat service. I assume that we will need a dish but what size ? What direction would the dish need to face in order to pick up the correct signal ? I assume that we will need a set-top box but which is best, how simple are they to fit and tune and would they work with a portugese TV ?
Mostly interested in getting UK news however the children are intested in keeping up with the usual rubbish they watch !
Any help offered is really gratefully received as I don't know where to start with this. Many Thanks
fjab is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-05-2008, 19:35
JamesE
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hibaldstow, N. Lincolnshire
Posts: 5,796
If you have a friend/acquaintance who already receives British Satellite TV using either an ordinary receiver or a "Sky" branded receiver then that's the size of dish you want - same as him. By connecting using a "Scart" (French Peritel) lead then any TV will work. Have a look at this Forum at threads discussing caravan satellite TV - it will give you some information on setting up the dish.
JamesE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2008, 19:41
darnall42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 3,074
maybe also have a look though the astra 2d forums http://astra2d.*********31.com/ (they have a sub forum for portugal
darnall42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2008, 19:51
MarioLanza
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,496
Basically, ask around for other people (ex-pats?) who have Sky TV. Ask them to recommend a local installer and get the same dish setup installed. You can then attach a freesat receiver to the cable (via the F-connector) instead of a Sky box. They use the same channels from the same satellites.

One thing to bear in mind. The channels seen on freesat are broadcast by the Astra 2D satellite (same as Sky and FTA boxes). However, the EPG and software updates come from the Eurobird satellite. There is only 0.3 degrees of separation between the two satellites but you need to ensure that your satellite dish can pick up both OK. A slightly mis-aligned dish could cause you problems. This should not be a problem to a professional satellite installer.
MarioLanza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2008, 10:54
JamesE
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hibaldstow, N. Lincolnshire
Posts: 5,796
Mario, I would guess that in Portugal the Eurobird signal could well be stronger than 2D! There is the problem that as you need a bigger and bigger dish at the extremities of the footprint then the narrower beamwidth of a bigger dish starts to come into play with satellites slightly apart. Also the skew on Eurobird is what it should be but the Astra satellites' polarisations are slightly "pre-skewd". I have not however seen any reports of people in more distant lands having a problem receiving both satellites - it's usually just a problem with 2D.
JamesE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2008, 12:23
lourinha
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Surrey & Costa Prata, Portugal
Posts: 34

Hi,
We also have an apartment in Portugal on the Silver Coast. I had installed by the local satellite guy a 1.5m dish up on the roof of the 3 storey block. Currently we use a Technomate (5100) FTA receiver and can pick up most/all available FTA channels. The average strength comes in at around 80%. The dish size was limited to physically going up on to the roof, I believe a 1800mm dish is recommended. I have tried a Fortec Passion HD FTA receiver and it worked ok as receiver but had to bring it back as the receiver remote clashed with our Hitachi plasma, the HD signal was very good. We are now considering Freesat but waiting for the PVR versions to appear. Hope this is of assistance.
lourinha is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:56.