Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

On O2 Contract and going abroad...


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-06-2008, 08:20
Msgplus_User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60

do i have to notify O2 that i will require international services?

also, as its an iphone will does anyone know the internetional charges for data use on the edge network (i don't plan to use it because it will be expensive.... but i have accidently hit mail etc in the past)

Thanks.
Msgplus_User is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-06-2008, 10:26
Appleseed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Fakenham
Posts: 3,637
It'd be best to phone them as your phone might need provisioning for international use, and you also may have to pay a deposit in case you rack a bill up while you're there! If you've been with O2 a while they may have already removed the international bar, and maybe won't want a deposit if you're a good payer.
The only way to get all of this information is to give them a call.
Enjoy your holiday and bring me some smokage back please!
Appleseed is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 15:05
agent_c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: This side of the screen.
Posts: 910
Turn off your voicemail before you go! Otherwise when someone calls you, you'll be charged for:

1) An incoming phone call whilst your phone rings
2) If you don't answer the phone, you'll be paying for an outgoing call to the UK whilst the other person leaves a voicemail
3) Another outgoing call to the UK when you pick up the voicemail.

But call O2, I think they have some roaming packages / add ons now.
agent_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 16:12
!!11oneone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,748
For a couple of quid a month, you can get cheaper international and roaming calls. But either way, you will need to make sure you're enabled for roaming before you go.
!!11oneone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 16:53
Adam D
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK,
Posts: 4,935
Would taking the iphone be the best idea?!

With it auto checking email and so on, maybe a very high bill just for a bit of spam email?
Adam D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 17:07
r_mitchell85
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,884
Turn off your voicemail before you go! Otherwise when someone calls you, you'll be charged for:

1) An incoming phone call whilst your phone rings
2) If you don't answer the phone, you'll be paying for an outgoing call to the UK whilst the other person leaves a voicemail
3) Another outgoing call to the UK when you pick up the voicemail.

But call O2, I think they have some roaming packages / add ons now.
how on earth can they charge you for calls you havent even answered? thats not very good at all is it!
r_mitchell85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 18:14
agent_c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: This side of the screen.
Posts: 910
how on earth can they charge you for calls you havent even answered? thats not very good at all is it!
Thats the way international charging works... Unlike Domestic calls which are charged when the call is established, International calls are charged from when the call hits the foriegn network... Because the Foriegn network is charging your operator... Its not an o2 specific thing.

If you were taking the iPhone overseas, I would be turning off the auto-email-check facility, as you will be charged for data access every time checks for email, even if there are no emails to get (it still has to get the "Theres no new emails" message from your server)... I'd also be turning on the feature that doesnt allow data roaming on the phone itself.
agent_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2008, 12:08
Msgplus_User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
im having the same worries, i dont want a MASSIVE bill when goign abroad, turning off data roaming, will that disable use of EDGE abroad?

I emailed customer services (and got a text on my phone when they replied, which was pretty cool!) and they said data roaming charges are 3.00 and then they went on to tell me of internetional roaming packages/bolt ons i could buy for 20 for 10mb etc etc... what wasn't very clear is what this 3.00 charge is, is that for connecting, or per mb or for what?
Originally Posted by O2 email
if you access EDGE network outside the UK, you'll be charged 3.00 including VAT. However you can add the following Data Roaming Bolt Ons to your account:
does anyone know? thanks.

Also, text allowance can be used abroad! so free messages still apply when in another country! I REALLY like this! , just worried about the phones Edge network connecting! turning off data roaming means no internetional edge? or have i got this wrong?

thanks
Msgplus_User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2008, 12:16
!!11oneone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,748
That's 3 per MB. Which actually isn't that excessive if you're doing a bit of email or something. As others have said, just make sure any auto-connecting apps are turned off and don't go onto the web else it'll quickly add up.
!!11oneone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2008, 23:07
agent_c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: This side of the screen.
Posts: 910
That's 3 per MB. Which actually isn't that excessive if you're doing a bit of email or something. As others have said, just make sure any auto-connecting apps are turned off and don't go onto the web else it'll quickly add up.
And whatever you do, dont make a "remote backup" of "friends" whilst overseas.
agent_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2008, 17:20
Msgplus_User
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
And whatever you do, dont make a "remote backup" of "friends" whilst overseas.
that should be alright i have no idea how to do either of them or what they are!
Msgplus_User is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2008, 18:01
kyussmondo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk
Posts: 1,728
With the iPhone just make sure that the Data Roaming option in Settings is set to OFF! This will stop the autochecking for email etc. Just make sure you do not accidentally hit Safari or Mail. You could always move the icons over to another screen so you don't accidentally use them or someone else doesn't mess with it.

Also, on the plane, remember to set it to Airplane Mode if you plan on using the iPod when flying. Just follow these tips and be careful and you shouldn't have any nasty surprises.

There are some good tips here http://www.wireless.att.com/answer-c...tionId=KB84199 it is AT&T but the same things apply to O2.
kyussmondo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2008, 22:35
agent_c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: This side of the screen.
Posts: 910
that should be alright i have no idea how to do either of them or what they are!
I mean ahem *cough* Pirate *Cough* popular TV shows, like a certain Vodafone customer....
agent_c is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:44.