Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

TUTV+ Box stability getting beyond a joke.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2008, 21:49
Nightdeamon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,620

Hi Everyone

My patience is being tested by this box becuase it is frequently crashing and locking up when it is in standby. I have tried everything from formatting the hard disk drive, doing factory resets to not leaving it on standby but yet it still fails. Im getting missed recordings on several occasions. I like the rest of you are sill awaiting the long awaited softare release which should address these problems and more. I do not subscribe but going by this thread i should hope you see why. I am seriously considering buying new equipment until the problems are fixed.

Nightdeamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 06-07-2008, 19:32
Nightdeamon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,620
Hi Again

I had to purchase a cheap freeview box today to guarentee a watchable DTT service, Today the box has frozen 3 times in the morning and frankly i have become sick and tired of it. I went to ASDA and brought a Pacific PGSTB01 and now all is well.

Nightdeamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2008, 22:52
jocktrucker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 409
mine has been on standby for a week and everything has downloaded ok. I was suprised myself, i expected some messages when i turned it on.
jocktrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2008, 23:31
Nightdeamon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,620
mine has been on standby for a week and everything has downloaded ok. I was suprised myself, i expected some messages when i turned it on.
If my box was yours it would problary lockup in stanby by within an hour and you get millions of missed recordings messages.
Nightdeamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2008, 23:52
KaptainKitten
 
Posts: n/a
Standby is pointless on this box since it does not use any less power, it just switches off the video output.

I think this box is very sensitive to glitches in the transmitted signal, it does not deal with them at all well.

I tried my anti-inteference mains extension lead that I used with my computer and things improved quite a bit, not worth buying especially though.


It's still rubbish however.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 08:58
lstar337
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somersets Mighty Mendip Tx!
Posts: 8,963
Standby is pointless on this box since it does not use any less power, it just switches off the video output.
Not true!

It changes the light from green to red too.
lstar337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 19:19
jid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bridgend, South Wales, UK
Posts: 230
Not true!

It changes the light from green to red too.
It most likely switches on TUTVs new Anti-Crash feature

Since I had my replacement TUTV box, I have found that it crashes more than ever, usually if you are on the EPG when it is updating.

Also when I try to record UKTV Gold, as I still subscribe at the moment.

Although it now has a 98%Free HD to play with!

Regards

Jamie
jid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 02:30
N00N00
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 257
Hi Again

I had to purchase a cheap freeview box today to guarentee a watchable DTT service, Today the box has frozen 3 times in the morning and frankly i have become sick and tired of it. I went to ASDA and brought a Pacific PGSTB01 and now all is well.

Sounds like goods are not fit for purpose thus a breach of contract.

I suggest you email them stating what you've had to do and see how they respond. If they don't resolve things to your satisfaction you'll be able to cancel your contract and return the box.

I'd also suggest you actually document some of the faults - perhaps take a photo of several of the errors/failures or something so you have proof.

edit - also have you considered Virgin's free tv service? - you can get that with your phone line.
N00N00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 15:51
Nightdeamon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,620
Sounds like goods are not fit for purpose thus a breach of contract.

I suggest you email them stating what you've had to do and see how they respond. If they don't resolve things to your satisfaction you'll be able to cancel your contract and return the box.

I'd also suggest you actually document some of the faults - perhaps take a photo of several of the errors/failures or something so you have proof.

edit - also have you considered Virgin's free tv service? - you can get that with your phone line.
Thanks for the info but im not a current subscriber because after the first month i decided it wasnt worth paying 9.99 for the little i watched. Besides the box is a year old this month so maybe the warrenty is void or something.

I am missing the ablility to record and will be more than happy to reconnect the box when decent software comes along. At the moment my freeview box that I am using is connected to an old VCR enabling me to record i had to figure out the timers but at least the fast forward and rewind functions as it should
Nightdeamon is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:37.