Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Cant connect wireless to PS3


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2008, 12:05
super-saint
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 590

Cant connect wireless to PS3

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Got a new shiney PS3 yesterday but am having issues connecting wirelessly.

Have a netgear router from Sky which is connected via ethernet to PC (tried to connect wireless a few months back but gave up - this could be connected to the new issue with ps3)

I followed the instructions in PS3 settings:
Internet connections,wireless,scan,found router ok (SSID: SKY......) only 50% signal though ,selected WEP, then inserted the 26 digit security key (taking care with upper case) obtained from going into 192.168.0.1 on PC

then all i get is connection failed at the end

I have AVG & Zonealarm installed on PC if this makes a diff.

Any ideas guys ?
super-saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-08-2008, 12:22
Mr Jingles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 437
Cant connect wireless to PS3

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Got a new shiney PS3 yesterday but am having issues connecting wirelessly.

Have a netgear router from Sky which is connected via ethernet to PC (tried to connect wireless a few months back but gave up - this could be connected to the new issue with ps3)

I followed the instructions in PS3 settings:
Internet connections,wireless,scan,found router ok (SSID: SKY......) only 50% signal though ,selected WEP, then inserted the 26 digit security key (taking care with upper case) obtained from going into 192.168.0.1 on PC

then all i get is connection failed at the end

I have AVG & Zonealarm installed on PC if this makes a diff.

Any ideas guys ?
Wireless is rubbish anyway, if you can play wired do it.
Mr Jingles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 12:26
MD_Zero
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London
Posts: 2,163
Wireless is rubbish anyway, if you can play wired do it.
54mbps is sufficient

Wired is superior of course, homeplugs work good...I wouldnt have a wireless router if it werent for me having a laptop
MD_Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 12:27
scooby1970
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Neath
Posts: 2,312
I've used a few routers with my PS3, all with no trouble at all. My old netgear had 40% signal strength, but my new Sky router has 54% strength.

The wep key on the Sky Router is attached to the router on the underneath. I'm sure it's only 8-12 digits/letters long though, and NOT 26!!!

Mark
scooby1970 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 12:59
super-saint
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 590
Wireless is rubbish anyway, if you can play wired do it.
With router in bedroom & PS3 downstairs this is not a viable solution Anybody else ?
super-saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 13:06
CaptnSpaulding
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 5,253
With router in bedroom & PS3 downstairs this is not a viable solution Anybody else ?
I'd use them 'homeplugs' things where the connection travels through the mains. Wireless networks are rubbish - at least for gaming or downloading.

I used to have a 15ft ethernet cable running from downstairs to upstairs because wireless was so rubbish when I tried it. I just took the cable through the outside wall and back in through the bedroom wall and along the skirting so you didn't really see it. Only cost 7 too.

For your question though, try connecting without any security on your wireless connection first. If it works then you know that's where the problem lies!
CaptnSpaulding is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 13:25
Dave_4321
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
I have to say I've been using wireless for gaming with my PS3 since last October and have never had a problem. I had BT broadband with a Linksys router and now have O2 Broadband with their supplied router - Gaming via wireless is not a problem although I do have 90% strength showing on my PS3.

I believe the WEP key for 64 bit encryption is 10 characters and 128 bit is 26 characters. Does your router not have a sticker underneath telling you the WEP key??
Dave_4321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 13:42
Echo1
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 3,485
Wireless is rubbish anyway, if you can play wired do it.
Wireless networks are rubbish - at least for gaming or downloading.
I installed my wireless network on Monday and it works flawlessly with my PS3 for downloading demos, Internet and streaming my media from my PC. I haven't tried any online games yet as I can't be arsed playing online, but I have no doubt that it would also work perfectly fine.

It literally took me minutes to setup and Tversity is just the dogs... when it comes to media streaming.

I am with VM and have the low 2mb connection. I am also using their standard router (Netgear).
Echo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 14:15
CaptnSpaulding
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Wales
Posts: 5,253
Don't get me wrong, like you say they work - but from mine and people's set ups I've seen, the difference between cable and wireless is vast!

Whilst downloading I'd lose about 200kb/s when going wireless (had about 75% signal) compared to cabled, and when I was on Call of Duty 4 I would have 4 green bars all the time on signal strength, whilst going wireless I would have 1 bar, sometimes 2.

I'll never go back
CaptnSpaulding is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 14:29
grumsta
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hinckley, Leics, UK
Posts: 252
>>selected WEP, then inserted the 26 digit security key<<

Wireless does work well: I use WPA (more secure).

Do you have anything else that can connect wirelessly to check that it's not the router?
grumsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 16:13
Mr Jingles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 437
I installed my wireless network on Monday and it works flawlessly with my PS3 for downloading demos, Internet and streaming my media from my PC. I haven't tried any online games yet as I can't be arsed playing online, but I have no doubt that it would also work perfectly fine.

It literally took me minutes to setup and Tversity is just the dogs... when it comes to media streaming.

I am with VM and have the low 2mb connection. I am also using their standard router (Netgear).
My wireless network worked flawlessly as well, and also took a faction of minute to set up, it is however crap for gaming with.


Originally Posted by CaptnSpaulding

Don't get me wrong, like you say they work - but from mine and people's set ups I've seen, the difference between cable and wireless is vast!



I'll never go back
Same here, had no real option other than wireless when i first got ps3, eventually got wired and would never go back .
Mr Jingles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 10:56
chaos-realm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: cant tell it's all smoky
Posts: 2,398
I highly recommend homeplugs they are a must if you want to save yourself from lag and a stable connection trouble joining invites and you will notice the difference in bars between wired & wireless
chaos-realm is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 14:03
Echo1
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 3,485
I tried (for the first time) playing online through my wireless setup last night. I tried Grid demo and F1: CE game. Both worked perfectly well.
Echo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 14:09
shawboy07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,071
it sounds like you have tried to add all the WEP keys in your router. You only use the one that is selected (normally 1 in the list). If you go into your router there will be 4 WEP keys you only enter 1 into your PS3 (should be about 8 numbers/letters in length)
shawboy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 16:19
Mr Jingles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 437
I tried (for the first time) playing online through my wireless setup last night. I tried Grid demo and F1: CE game. Both worked perfectly well.
FFS. ALL THE GAMES I PLAYED WIRELESS WORK PERFECTLY FINE. ITS NOT LIKE ANYONE HAS SAID THE GAMES DONT WORK WIRELESS, BUT THAT THERE IS AN ADVANTAGE TO PLAYING ONLINE GAMES WITH WIRED CONNECTION - WHEN PLAYING P2P THE GAME IS ONLY AS GOOD AS ITS WEAKEST LINK/CONNECTION, AND YOUR WIRELESS WILL BE IT
Mr Jingles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 18:56
Echo1
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 3,485
Ooh, someone is having a bad day...
Echo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 19:19
Mr Jingles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 437
Ooh, someone is having a bad day...
No not in the slightest, just you seem to be failing to understand what people are saying when they say that a wireless connection is crap.

You say you have never bothered to game online yet tell the OP that it works flawlessly because you can stream media to your pc and surf the internet, then after a highly scientific test of using a demo and a game with a global user base totalling around 15 you again give it the thumbs up.

When push comes to shove a wireless connection is better than none, but if at all possible wired is the way to go.
Mr Jingles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 22:10
goomba
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,428
If we ignore what else is in between, surely the slowest part of your connection is your net connection, not your wireless. Unless there is something else about wireless that causes lag? It can't be speed - my wireless network has good bit of overhead when compared to my 10Mb connection out to the net.
goomba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 01:44
Echo1
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 3,485
No not in the slightest, just you seem to be failing to understand what people are saying when they say that a wireless connection is crap.

You say you have never bothered to game online yet tell the OP that it works flawlessly because you can stream media to your pc and surf the internet, then after a highly scientific test of using a demo and a game with a global user base totalling around 15 you again give it the thumbs up.

When push comes to shove a wireless connection is better than none, but if at all possible wired is the way to go.
Just because you fail to get your equipment working properly or are using a less-than-steller IP, doesn't mean wireless gaming is "crap".
Echo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 05:24
Conroy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: cs_office
Posts: 2,474
Don't forget that signal strength plays an important factor. I hate routers with a passion, so I turned my PC into a wireless access point. As my PS3 sits next to it, I have 100% strength so my gaming experience is fantastic.

That might be a cheaper alternative to getting a router but it is not simple to set up.
Conroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 08:17
gillyallan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 27,099
The way my house is setup i have my own desktop PC wired to my router. PS3, DS and wife laptop is wireless. All work perfectly and dont remember having any wireless gaming issues with any of them but PS3 is still in same room as router and maybe 18ft away.

I know wired you take away any possible hurdle and guess there must be a small encryption calculation but for me my wireless is perfectly fine.
gillyallan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 10:54
Darobi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: North Notts
Posts: 4,090
I have a 8 port switch in the loft that connects the PS3 and 3 computers to the router. I have a laptop and desktop in the study connected direct to router and then 3x PSP and WII wireless.

RG45 in all the rooms except kitchen and dining room

Put in while house was being built.

Still get lag even with 3 bars on COD4.


Doesn't matter how good or bad your connection is. The Yanks will always host. If they have a crap connection you'll lag.
Darobi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 11:04
DEADLY_17
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 9,053
i have wirlesse but have no security is that bad?
DEADLY_17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 11:26
chaos-realm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: cant tell it's all smoky
Posts: 2,398
I have a 8 port switch in the loft that connects the PS3 and 3 computers to the router. I have a laptop and desktop in the study connected direct to router and then 3x PSP and WII wireless.

RG45 in all the rooms except kitchen and dining room

Put in while house was being built.

Still get lag even with 3 bars on COD4.


Doesn't matter how good or bad your connection is. The Yanks will always host. If they have a crap connection you'll lag.
thats some setup you've got gulf
chaos-realm is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 11:28
chaos-realm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: cant tell it's all smoky
Posts: 2,398
i have wirlesse but have no security is that bad?
very bad get your security on unles you want half the street surfing your web LOL
chaos-realm is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:51.