Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

"over sensitive" smoke alarm


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2008, 12:53
Ber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 19,647

Driving me absolutely bonkers!!! Almost everytime I switch the cooker on the damn thing goes off and its "hard-wired" into the house so ALL of them go off

Is there anyway to adjust the sensitivity on them?
Ber is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 11-09-2008, 12:56
analogueagent
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,562
Put a sock over it? Obviously removing if after cooking...
analogueagent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 13:03
Ber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 19,647
That could be a plan if it keeps on happening!!

That or a sledgehammer
Ber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 13:22
stevosowl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,139
i have the same problem, hard-wired and so sensitive i think the toaster sets them off!

unfortunately the only solution for me has been to flip the switch in the fuse box - so now i have none.

stevosowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 14:57
sarky spark
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 481
Where in relatation to the kitchen is the offending detector fitted?
sarky spark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 15:07
♣ Moya
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22,630
Ours it in the hall and the kitchen leads off it.
I remember my daughter (about 9 then) talking to my sister on the phone when the burgers I was grilling set the alarm off.
My daughter said,"Oh, I have to go. My tea is ready."
Some dinner gong!
♣ Moya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 15:18
susie-4964
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 21,787
We've just got the battery-operated ones, and it's frying or grilling fish that sets them off - I have to take the battery out. Our next-door-neighbour had the same problem once, and some eejit passing by actually called the fire brigade when she heard the alarm - didn't think of knocking on the door or anything, and the car was in the driveway! Neighbours were not best pleased when two fire engines turned up!
susie-4964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 15:48
Choco Holic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Knee deep in chocolate
Posts: 1,393
I have a heat detector in my kitchen, detects the heat from a fire. Sounds good in theory does it not?

But it also detects the heat from the radiators, cups of tea if you are stood in the doorway chatting, and the oven when I am cooking a roast.

My solution No heat in the kitchen, no roasts, and to wake up my daughter in the morning, I waft my coffee.


Do you have the option to place a fan in the kitchen (a little one will do) and turn it on just as you start to cook, then turn it off again when dinner is cooked.
Choco Holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 15:50
Choco Holic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Knee deep in chocolate
Posts: 1,393
^^^^^add to my post above, fan pointed towards the offending smoke alarm.

You dont want to de-activate it, maybe some day it could save your life.
Choco Holic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 15:52
Ber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 19,647
Where in relatation to the kitchen is the offending detector fitted?
The smoke alarm is on the hallway ceiling right by the door to the kitchen. The cooker is dead ahead of you through the door. 0 is alarm, c is cooker

-----------------------
.................0
------------- ------

---------------C-------
Ber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 16:14
HoxtonHoney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,307
My Power Shower sets off my alarms upstairs and downstairs.....admittedly I shower with the bathroom door open about three inches, so that I can hear what my two children are up to!

And my window is also open!
HoxtonHoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 17:26
robtuk06
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,424
Here is it over sensitive too, and hard wired into the same circuit as the lights as well as having a battery backup.
robtuk06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 17:29
Dissonance
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Devon (home) / Dorset (uni)
Posts: 1,871
We had this problem with our smoke alarm, and we did unplug it eventually. Having two alarms wired in tandem was OK as the upstairs one was still working...
Dissonance is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 21:25
bornslippy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 756
To me the answer is to get rid of your existing one and install this one...

"Easy-Wire Smoke Alarm EZ-212"

Bottom of the page at:

http://www.fireangel.co.uk/index.asp?section=7&page=24

You control it via your light switch rather than prodding at the ceiling - it has to be worth the (minor) effort of installing it

And if the installation really does put you off then there is the "10 Year Plug-In Smoke Alarm, White PS-101 or Silver SPS-101"

Dont make the mistake of deactivating a smoke alarm - get a good one that you can control properly!
bornslippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 03:05
seacam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,830
Driving me absolutely bonkers!!! Almost everytime I switch the cooker on the damn thing goes off and its "hard-wired" into the house so ALL of them go off

Is there anyway to adjust the sensitivity on them?
Hello Ber,

I thoroughly recommend Bornslippy's link to the EZ-212, we have fitted a few now.

The problem however is poorly placed smoke alarms and the above product won't resolve this, just make it easier to silence the damn things.

As a landlord with some of our SH projects we have instead been allowed to fit heat alarms out side kitchens in conjunction with smoke alarms, works a treat.
seacam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:15
timey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pictland
Posts: 16,425
We just close the kitchen door when cooking. On the occasions it does go off, I treat it as a periodic alarm test, so at least I know it is working.
timey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:23
SillyBillyGoat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19,878
Mine is the same, its so annoying
SillyBillyGoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 11:01
Ber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 19,647
We just close the kitchen door when cooking. On the occasions it does go off, I treat it as a periodic alarm test, so at least I know it is working.
I tried that but A) it was a bit boring hanging around in the kitchen waiting for my food to cook, and B) when I opened the door to take the food through the alarm would go off as whatever "smoke" there was had had time to accumulate in the kitchen.
Ber is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:16.