Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Bosch Dishwasher problems


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-11-2008, 20:20
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685

A few weeks ago, we bought a Bosch SMS50E06GB Dishwasher, which has been a fantastic purchase - until today.

We set it off this morning to do a full load, and left it to do its thing - we were up to our eyes in it with the boiler engineer being with us and stuff, so were basically ignoring it. A couple of hours later, I went into the kitchen to see the 'Check Water' flashing, and a 'E15' error code on the display. On opening the machine, the bottom was literally swimming.

I called Bosch, and the woman told me she didn't really know what the fault code was, but suggested that I bail the machine out, check for blockages in the filters, and check for blockages or kinks in the drain pipe, and if still no good to call back and they would send an engineer.

I duly bailed the machine out (old turkey baster - very handy tool!) removed the filters, which were clear and removed the pump cover as described in the manual, and could see that the impeller was clear - I reassembled, then checked all the drainage pipes right out to the main drain - I found a partial blockage at the top of the U-bend where the dishwasher drain T's into, which I cleared.

I plugged the machine back in, switched on, to still have the 'Check Water' light flashing, and the E15 code on the display; I could hear the drain pump running, even when I opened the door, so I poured a jug of water in to see what it would do - it pumped it out the drain, no problem. However, still the pump ran, and still the E15 error and flashing check water light - I tried a basin full of water, which also was pumped out without problem - however, the error lights still remain.

I have had it isolated from the mains for hours - no change. And of course, by the time I had done all of the above, Bosch were closed - sods law

So, I will have to try and speak to Bosch tomorrow, but in the meantime wondered if any of the geniuses around here might have a simple solution?
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-11-2008, 20:30
Digital.Diablo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: The Black Country, Bostin!
Posts: 3,366
You are getting water INTO the machine arn't you? Just with you saying the boiler engineer came, (s)he's not turned off the water has (s)he?
Digital.Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2008, 20:32
freestyle2k3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hull & Sheffield
Posts: 6
Have you done as its suggesting and checked the mains water in. You say that you have had an boiler issue. Was the water turned off. If you remove the mains water pipe does water flow when you open the cut of valve. (Make sure its off before you remove the pipe, and only turn it a small amount, as the vales are designed to be either open or closed and not much in between the two.

Edit: Aah, beaten to it
freestyle2k3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2008, 20:34
InTheNow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 955
My old Bosch dishwasher used to do this. It needed an engineer in the end. I ended up chucking it and buying a Miele. Bosch used to be good but are rubbish now.

Isn't it something to do with the flood protection? I was told when that kicked in, it had to have an engineer look at it. What about the manual? Anything in there?
InTheNow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2008, 20:41
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
It won't even attempt to fill, so I cannot be certain - I suppose the only thing I can do is to take the mains water connection off tomorrow and see if there is definitely water there from the main pipe - I am assuming that there is, as the boiler engineer only switched off the hot supply, the cold water continued to work the whole time he was here, and all the taps in the house are in full working order.

I know that this machine has an anti flood device, which seems to be an electronically controlled valve at the extreme end of the water inlet pipe - so the end which screws onto the mains water pipe has a large housing to accommodate this valve/device - I am wondering if this has tripped, to stop more water coming in (exactly as it should have done under the circumstances to be fair) - I have no idea what to do to 'reset' it though.

If I can resolve this myself, I am keen to do so, as I would hate to call an engineer out and waste his or her time (besides the fact that I would look like a total prat! )
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2008, 20:54
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
My old Bosch dishwasher used to do this. It needed an engineer in the end. I ended up chucking it and buying a Miele. Bosch used to be good but are rubbish now.

Isn't it something to do with the flood protection? I was told when that kicked in, it had to have an engineer look at it. What about the manual? Anything in there?
I thought that for the money, the Bosch would be a reasonable buy - in fact, I stopped my brother in law buying a Beko the other week, and persuaded him to buy a Bosch too! - and in fairness, until today, it has seemed to be really good - very quiet, easy to use, seems well made, and our dishes have never been so clean.

I have a sneaky feeling that it is something to do with the flood protection, and in fairness, it has done what it was meant to do, which is prevent a flood (the blockage in the drain was obviously enough to cause the machine problems), but I have no idea how to reset it.
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2008, 22:49
agentz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,294
It sounds like the AquaStop device has activated - the big bit you describe at the mains supply end of the water hose.

We bought a Siemens dishwasher a couple of years ago and the AquaStop tripped the second time we used it and the supplier wanted to send out an engineer but I persuaded them to replace the dishwasher, which they did and it has been 100% ever since.

Have a look at this thread - http://www.ukwhitegoods.co.uk/module...topic&p=110870 on UK White Goods regarding how to reset an AquaStop - you may find some help. Failing that, have a hunt around that board for your model of dishwasher for other queries, or post a new question - the people over there are incredibly helpful when it comes to things like this.

Good luck.
agentz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2008, 23:11
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
Thanks agentz - they suggest taking the water hose off for a few minutes to reset the aquastop, sadly I had it disconnected for a good few minutes earlier today, and checked the filter in the end of it, so that is about all I can do - - the advice goes on to suggest removing the left panel of the machine, which I obviously cannot do as the thing is only a matter of weeks old

Looks like I've got to get an engineer out then

Thanks for the advice though
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2008, 17:12
DEmmerson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Home Counties
Posts: 1,438
You say you bought it a few weeks ago? You should be approaching the place you bought it from and insisting they fix it. If they cannot, and it is less than 6 months old, you are quite within your rights to reject the dishwasher as it is assumed it was sold with the defect and get a free replacement. Who knows, you may get a better model as compensation.

Do not go to Bosch direct (unless you purchased it from them). Else you may lose some of your consumer rights as the place yo bought it from could argue they weren't given the opportunity to fix it.

Hope this helps
DEmmerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2008, 18:29
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
It was delivered direct from Bosch, who I called this afternoon - they say that I have tried everything that I can with it, and without hesitation said that they would send an engineer out, who is due to be with me on Tuesday.

Although I am disappointed that it has failed, I cannot fault the way I was dealt with by Bosch, and just hope that they get it working again on Tuesday - its like a death in the family it being faulty!
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2008, 22:09
DEmmerson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Home Counties
Posts: 1,438
Ah, but think of the good family time you can have washing and wiping up together!

Sounds as if Bosch are doing all they can but obviously if they can't fix it on the first attempt you are quite within your rights to reject the machine as faulty and request a new one. They should oblige as they'll only recondition your one and sell it 'as new' anyway.

Good luck
DEmmerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2008, 22:31
the chimp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ]]]-- N.F.F.C. --[[[
Posts: 11,636
They should oblige as they'll only recondition your one and sell it 'as new' anyway.
No they wont !!!

That isnt how it works, unused damaged on delivery then returned or broken on delivery and returned then repaired = grade A (sold on to special outlets discounted, parts and labour warranty only- no cosmetic cover)

Any signs of use = grade b (tested then sold on with no warranty to special outlets)

Or if uneconomical to repair, the data badge is removed and they are sold on as scrap (to the same sort of outlets which then make 5 0r 6 working ones out of every 10 they buy)
the chimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2008, 01:54
seacam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,297
It was delivered direct from Bosch, who I called this afternoon - they say that I have tried everything that I can with it, and without hesitation said that they would send an engineer out, who is due to be with me on Tuesday.

Although I am disappointed that it has failed, I cannot fault the way I was dealt with by Bosch, and just hope that they get it working again on Tuesday - its like a death in the family it being faulty!
Hello Fats,

E15 code,Hmm, pump, level switch, faulty heater element,----- could be multiple faults.
seacam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2008, 12:27
niall campbell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: now a townie in glasgow! help
Posts: 6,917
switch the mains off to the dishwasher to re-set the machine

then switch on

looks like heating guy simply turned off something
niall campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2008, 16:10
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
Hello Fats,

E15 code,Hmm, pump, level switch, faulty heater element,----- could be multiple faults.
Hi seacam,

I am fairly convinced that it is something to do with the anti-flood device that has kicked in, and won't reset. It will happily drain away any water that I put into it (I poured a full washing up basin into it and it drained that away fine), but for some reason it won't take any more water in (I assume because the anti-flood device is still telling it that it is full and any more would cause a flood)

switch the mains off to the dishwasher to re-set the machine

then switch on

looks like heating guy simply turned off something
I had it unplugged from the mains overnight on Saturday night, and most of the day yesterday before trying it again, and it was still the same.

Hopefully by this time tomorrow, we'll be back in business.
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2008, 20:36
agentz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,294
Hi seacam,

I am fairly convinced that it is something to do with the anti-flood device that has kicked in, and won't reset. It will happily drain away any water that I put into it (I poured a full washing up basin into it and it drained that away fine), but for some reason it won't take any more water in (I assume because the anti-flood device is still telling it that it is full and any more would cause a flood)



I had it unplugged from the mains overnight on Saturday night, and most of the day yesterday before trying it again, and it was still the same.

Hopefully by this time tomorrow, we'll be back in business.
Fingers crossed for tomorrow FC - would you mind popping back and letting us know how you get on and if they get it sorted what they did? Just really curious about these Aquastop thingies...
agentz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2008, 20:43
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
I will, assuming that I find out myself - mother in law is going to be here for us for the visit, as we'll be at work.

I am curious about it myself to be honest - its a good idea if it saves a flooded kitchen, but a complete pain if an engineer will have to come and reset it every time.

Thanks for the advice everyone
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2008, 21:17
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
Update as promised!

Engineer came out whilst I was at work, so I didn't see exactly what was done, but according to the repair note, the base of the machine was full of water (how he accessed the base, I have no idea - I could see water when I opened the cover where the salt goes, so can only assume it was under that somewhere - should the salt part be dry all the time?)

Anyway, he drained the water off, and then checked for leaks into the base, finding none, and reckoned that he found the drain hose kinked (well, I had it pumping basin loads of water out of the cavity without problem, so cannot quite see how that was the case, unless it got kinked with me having the machine in and out over the weekend attempting to get it going) - and left the advice that customer was not to push the machine as far back in its hole as that was what was kinking the pipe (machine was left sticking out from the kitchen cabinets!) so, customer knocked a bloody great hole in the back of a cabinet, and moved the pipe so there was no earthly chance that it would kink again

All appears to be well now - how he reset the machine though, I have no idea.
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2008, 21:46
the chimp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: ]]]-- N.F.F.C. --[[[
Posts: 11,636

All appears to be well now - how he reset the machine though, I have no idea.
Some have a float in the base which when the water reaches a certain level activates a microswitch.
the chimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2008, 16:30
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
Some have a float in the base which when the water reaches a certain level activates a microswitch.
Looks like that is exactly the case with this one, and as a further note just in case this thread ever pops up on a search and might help someone out, after using the machine last night, I decided to check under the salt cap today, and found that the salt is completely dry. So, it appears that the water that I was seeing under this cap, should not have been there, and if I had persevered with the old turkey baster, I would have probably have managed to empty it and reset it myself, negating the need to have an engineer come out (I hate wasting peoples time needlessly).

As an aside, I cannot fault Bosch on their customer service - engineer sent out without fuss, arrived during the times specified, and left the machine working perfectly. Given that I called on Sunday, and the engineer was here by Tuesday, I think that is pretty good.
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2008, 16:36
seacam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,297
Looks like that is exactly the case with this one, and as a further note just in case this thread ever pops up on a search and might help someone out, after using the machine last night, I decided to check under the salt cap today, and found that the salt is completely dry. So, it appears that the water that I was seeing under this cap, should not have been there, and if I had persevered with the old turkey baster, I would have probably have managed to empty it and reset it myself, negating the need to have an engineer come out (I hate wasting peoples time needlessly).

As an aside, I cannot fault Bosch on their customer service - engineer sent out without fuss, arrived during the times specified, and left the machine working perfectly. Given that I called on Sunday, and the engineer was here by Tuesday, I think that is pretty good.
Hello Fats,

So was it a kinked hose and a faulty micro switch or just the hose?
seacam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2008, 16:47
Alcdrew
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,917
The salt section in my dishwasher is always full of water and it's never been a problem, is it normal for all dishwasher to be like the controllers? should mine be dry, is it likely to break sometime soon?
Alcdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2008, 16:48
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
Hello Fats,

So was it a kinked hose and a faulty micro switch or just the hose?
I think it was a combination of a couple of things - where the pipe went through into the cupboard, it was just at the right height for side of the machine to perhaps push on the pipe when pushed right back - not kinking it fully, but enough to restrict flow - this has been cured by knocking a larger hole, and moving the pipe further back away from the rear/side of the machine, eliminating any possibility of any restriction; also, I found some crud on the inside of the 'nozzle' that the machine's drain hose pushes onto on the U-bend under the sink, probably just built up over the years with the old dishwasher - again, not blocked, but could possibly have restricted flow - - the two restrictions combined, meant that the machine wasn't draining fully, and the water was going to the only place it could, which was into the base.

All in all, not a fault with the machine, just a combination of a couple of wee issues, not helped by a couple of novice users that had absolutely no idea what was normal, and what wasn't

Funny though, never had a dishwasher until just over a month ago, and now the thought of being without one isn't worth thinking about!
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2008, 16:51
fat controller
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Slightly round the bend
Posts: 12,685
The salt section in my dishwasher is always full of water and it's never been a problem, is it normal for all dishwasher to be like the controllers? should mine be dry, is it likely to break sometime soon?
Please don't panic, as I am still a novice user, and am merely making an assumption on what I am seeing today that is different following the engineer visit - - I could be barking up the wrong tree, and could even find that there is water in there again tomorrow, with the machine running fine.

I would be the first to admit that I can do little more than guess at the internal workings of a dishwasher.
fat controller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2008, 17:27
niall campbell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: now a townie in glasgow! help
Posts: 6,917
it could be YES it was pumping out but not fast enough if more water coming in during the cycle !!
niall campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:50.