Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Anyone else lost the History Channel?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2008, 13:30
jontifree
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4

My TV with Freeview built in kindly informed me that new channels were available, so I scanned for them.
The result...History Channel has vanished

It was annoying enough that they switched it off at 6pm anyway, but now I can't get it at all!!

Anyone else lost it? Anyone know where it went?

Think my signal comes from the Wrekin (Shropshire).

Thanks for any help offered.
jontifree is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-12-2008, 13:35
RileyM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ely (CB6 - Sandy Heath TX)
Posts: 1,491
My TV with Freeview built in kindly informed me that new channels were available, so I scanned for them.
The result...History Channel has vanished

It was annoying enough that they switched it off at 6pm anyway, but now I can't get it at all!!

Anyone else lost it? Anyone know where it went?

Think my signal comes from the Wrekin (Shropshire).

Thanks for any help offered.
I take it you mean UKTV History and not The History Channel, as that's only on Sky (and possibly Virgin Media).

Do you still have Virgin 1, TMF, 4Music (The Hits), Ideal World & Film4? If not, then you've lost the whole of Multiplex D, which could be due to low/loss of signal
RileyM is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 13:36
DAVE02
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sandwich kent, Dover SC TX
Posts: 1,125
do you get the other channels that are on the same UHF number as UKTV History
DAVE02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 13:40
jontifree
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
I take it you mean UKTV History and not The History Channel, as that's only on Sky (and possibly Virgin Media).

Do you still have Virgin 1, TMF, 4Music (The Hits), Ideal World & Film4? If not, then you've lost the whole of Multiplex D, which could be due to low/loss of signal
Yeah, sorry UKTV History.

Still get the other channels, It just seems to be UKV History that has vanished.
jontifree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 00:19
RileyM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ely (CB6 - Sandy Heath TX)
Posts: 1,491
Yeah, sorry UKTV History.

Still get the other channels, It just seems to be UKV History that has vanished.
Is the box (or TV in your case) maybe just not listing it on the correct LCN (EPG channel number)? Some boxes do this if there's a problem with the transmission when it does the scan and stores the channels,like if there signal is too weak and the box/TV cant get the info on which channel number to use, or if know channel number has been associated to it. I think the most common channel range where there channels are stored are in the 800s or possible 900s,
RileyM is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 21:36
mim1946
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Buckhaven, Fife
Posts: 145
My TV with Freeview built in kindly informed me that new channels were available, so I scanned for them.
The result...History Channel has vanished

It was annoying enough that they switched it off at 6pm anyway, but now I can't get it at all!!

Anyone else lost it? Anyone know where it went?

Think my signal comes from the Wrekin (Shropshire).

Thanks for any help offered.
If your box has the option of doing a 'first time instal' or 'factory reset', try that. If not, remove the aerial from the back of the box and do a rescan - no channels found. Disconnect from the electricity supply (unplug, not just switch off) for a few seconds. Plug electric and aerial back in and do the scan for channels again.

Hopefully this will fix it for you.
mim1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 16:41
jontifree
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks all.

After several rescans it has reappeared. No explanation for it really.

It was still available via other boxes around the house (as after it vanished off the main TV I didn't do any new channel scans on the others), all showing very good signal strength. So it must have just been my TV being awkward.
jontifree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 17:15
Terry Wigon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: ♀Behind blue eyes
Posts: 6,324
I've just gone through the freeview channels and see that 'All Creatures Great and Small' and 'Reilly Ace of Spies' are showing on UKTV history.

Looks like dumbing down to me. Either that or it's become the new Drama channel!
Terry Wigon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 18:34
Andy258
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Newark, Notts
Posts: 655
I've just gone through the freeview channels and see that 'All Creatures Great and Small' and 'Reilly Ace of Spies' are showing on UKTV history.

Looks like dumbing down to me. Either that or it's become the new Drama channel!
UKTV History has been dumbing down for some time (along with the rest of the UKTV network!).

As far as I know, UKTV History is supposed to show serious documentaries such as Timewatch, so why they waste airtime showing rubbish like Antiques Roadshow i'll never know.

As for the drama's they show, then there are several other UKTV channels they could put them on.

UKTV History is not the place to show Sharpe, All Creatures Great & Small, Reilly Ace of Spies and certainly not Catherine bloody Cookson!!!
Andy258 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:54.