Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

CI Module slot


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-12-2008, 14:13
jedm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 20

Could someone explain what the CI Module slot is for? Could this be used for a Setanta Sports Card? Would it work? Would the channels appear on the EPG......or is the slot for a completely different purpose!!

Any help much appreciated.
jedm is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-12-2008, 14:37
Houdini
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 296
I'm sure that some one will pm you....
Houdini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 14:40
CanaryPhil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norwich
Posts: 86
Hi Jedm, the CI slot is designed to take a Conditional Access Module (CAM), into which a Subscription card is installed. A few users have reported that this works well with a Dragon CAM or TRex CAM. As regards Setanta, the encryption system on the satellite is different to that used on TopUpTV, so will not work with a Setanta Card. It is possible to use an expired Sky card to get Ch4HD, Sky3 etc.
CanaryPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 14:47
Houdini
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 296
Setanta Sports is available on satellite with a card if you pay the subs



http://www.setanta.com/online-offers...Fc0a3godbG6iCQ
Houdini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 14:55
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,835
Setanta Sports is available on satellite with a card if you pay the subs



http://www.setanta.com/online-offers...Fc0a3godbG6iCQ
Yes but the satellite encryption is NDS and they do not sell NDS CAMs. NDS cards will work for a while in Dragon, TRex and Diablo CAMs BUT the card needs to live in a Sky digibox for 24 hours every 4 weeks to receive a "keep alive" signal otherwise the cards goes to sleep and will not decrypt anything.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 15:00
andybno1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 6,058
I got a pre-loaded t-rex off ebay works a treat for me helps take the load off the hard drive too. I tend to cap what I need to cap and then leave it in the sky box rest of the time
andybno1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2008, 15:19
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,835
One further problem is that although these CAMs work with the present generation of Sky/NDS cards there is no guarantee that they will work with the next generation of cards due out in April and if they do how long it will take for someone to reverse engineer that card and produce the software to allow the CAMs to decode the new cards. Remember these CAMs did not work with the first generation of Sky NDS cards..
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2008, 10:40
nigelbb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 671
One further problem is that although these CAMs work with the present generation of Sky/NDS cards there is no guarantee that they will work with the next generation of cards due out in April.
What makes you think that the current cards are to be replaced? I have seen you post a stetment to this effect a couple of times but have not seen this information anywhere else. You sound like a scaremongering Sky employee Using a Sky card in a Dragon CAM in a non-Sky receiver or with a PC tuner has been working well for over 3 years.

BTW A Sky card will happily update in a Dreambox receiver & that card can be shared to a Diablo WiFi CAM in the Humax CAM slot.
nigelbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2008, 11:19
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,835
What makes you think that the current cards are to be replaced? I have seen you post a stetment to this effect a couple of times but have not seen this information anywhere else. You sound like a scaremongering Sky employee Using a Sky card in a Dragon CAM in a non-Sky receiver or with a PC tuner has been working well for over 3 years.

BTW A Sky card will happily update in a Dreambox receiver & that card can be shared to a Diablo WiFi CAM in the Humax CAM slot.
I do not work for Sky and never have.

For your info Sky's contract with NDS states encryption is changed every 5 years and it is now slightly over 5 years sibce they were last changed.

Recently a new third caid (Conditional Access ID) has appearred on the metadata broadcast. The caids are the identification of the viewing cards and this confirms that there are now (or very shortly will be) 3 generations of viewing cards.

I am not the only poster saying this. See these threads
http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/s...=new+sky+cards
http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/s...=new+sky+cards
http://www.forum.digitalspy.co.uk/fo...=viewing+cards
http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/s...+viewing+cards

Plus threads on several other forums. So I suggest before attempting to flame someone you actually try a search on the forum. I am merely warning newbies on this forum that DO NOT expect a guarantee that any new cards will work in their exepensive CAMs bought solely for the purpose of decrypting Sky. The first generation of Sky digital cards did not work in these CAMs and it is only moot to assume that the next generation cards will not work until someone has reverse engineered them and written the software for the CAMs and multicrypt readers if possible. I am well aware of the capabilities of using Sky cards in non Sky receivers.

For your info I have a Dragon CAM, a TRex CAM and a TM9100 with multicrypt card reader all of which I use with full Sky subscription cards.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2008, 10:51
nigelbb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 671
davemurgatroyd Don't be so sensitive. I intended no flame. Perhaps you missed the smilie?

The links that you posted are the normal gossip & speculation regarding Sky's intentions. There is as usual nothing concrete to back up the rumour.

The reason that the 1st generation Sky digital cards did not work in these unofficial CAMs is that the conditional access part of NDS/Videoguard encryption hadn't been reverse engineered at that time. If you pop a 1st gen Sky card into a Dreambox it is recognised as an NDS card & communicates with the card & receives an ATR (answer to reset). I am sure that if these cards were still in use they would be fully functional.
nigelbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2008, 12:45
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,835
davemurgatroyd Don't be so sensitive. I intended no flame. Perhaps you missed the smilie?

The links that you posted are the normal gossip & speculation regarding Sky's intentions. There is as usual nothing concrete to back up the rumour.
What is the recent introduction of the third caid then if not concrete evidence?
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2008, 07:27
tronic592001
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: wales uk
Posts: 115
so if these cards will work. sky *active account card ^

will the epg show all the sky channels..
tronic592001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2008, 09:52
Houdini
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 296
The epg for a non freesat scan will indeed show the channels that you may be able to view.

However the epg will not be the same as the full 'sky' epg or the freesat epg, but very limited (maybe only now and next)
Houdini is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:01.