Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Help with BT Home Hub 2 Please


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14-01-2009, 10:33
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16

There seems to be a common problem on the internet that people seem to be getting extremely slow speeds from thier BT Home Hubs. I am no exception.

I have had BT Broadband for on 4 months now and have had problems since day 1. I have spoke to the indian call centres about 20 times but to no help what so ever.

Ok the problem!! I pay for BT option 3 which I believe is unlimted 8meg Broadband. As I said I have had problems since day 1 with EXTREMELY slow speeds. I have run speed test after speed test and I am not getting an IP profile over 500

here is my latest result:

just done a test with speedtester.bt.com and got this

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
IP profile for your line is - 500 kbps
DSL connection rate: 498 kbps(UP-STREAM) 7458 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 444 kbps

My phone line is with the Post Office who have ran 5 line checks and found no problems. BT say they have no problems on their end either.

I have tried syncing the Hub for aslong as possible to try raise my IP profile but this also hasn't worked. I have had 2 Hub replacements too, so I dont think its a faulty hub.

I know am really going on a bit now but am in my final year of uni and really need this to get sorted.

If you need any other info then let me know

Any help would be great
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 14-01-2009, 11:45
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,168
There seems to be a common problem on the internet that people seem to be getting extremely slow speeds from thier BT Home Hubs. I am no exception.

I have had BT Broadband for on 4 months now and have had problems since day 1. I have spoke to the indian call centres about 20 times but to no help what so ever.

Ok the problem!! I pay for BT option 3 which I believe is unlimted 8meg Broadband. As I said I have had problems since day 1 with EXTREMELY slow speeds. I have run speed test after speed test and I am not getting an IP profile over 500

here is my latest result:

just done a test with speedtester.bt.com and got this

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
IP profile for your line is - 500 kbps
DSL connection rate: 498 kbps(UP-STREAM) 7458 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 444 kbps

I have tried syncing the Hub for aslong as possible to try raise my IP profile but this also hasn't worked. I have had 2 Hub replacements too, so I dont think its a faulty hub.
The current received Wisdom on the HH 2.0 is that they seem to sync slightly higher than the previous types. You do not have a faulty Home Hub nor are HHs generally a problem.

You are on an UP TO 8mb/s service and your Line Rate is extremely good at 7,458 kb/s. However it is your IP Profile that is the problem as you will never go faster than that. For your Line Rate it should be 6,500 kb/s. What do the Indians say?

I am not sure what you mean by: 'I have tried syncing the Hub for as long as possible'.
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2009, 13:08
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
The current received Wisdom on the HH 2.0 is that they seem to sync slightly higher than the previous types. You do not have a faulty Home Hub nor are HHs generally a problem.

You are on an UP TO 8mb/s service and your Line Rate is extremely good at 7,458 kb/s. However it is your IP Profile that is the problem as you will never go faster than that. For your Line Rate it should be 6,500 kb/s. What do the Indians say?

I am not sure what you mean by: 'I have tried syncing the Hub for as long as possible'.
They told me that there is "no problem" as I was getting a line rate at 7,468 kb/s. I asked about raising my IP profile and he didnt seem to know what I meant.

By syncing the the hub I mean, leaving it connected for as long as possible without switching it off, to try raise my IP profile. My hub has been on for 12 days now an still no improvement?

Any ideas to whats going wrong an who I should speak to?
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2009, 13:29
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,168
You should leave your HH on 24/7. If you kept switching it off during the Ten Day Stabilisation Period when you first installed it, that could be the root of you problem.

It looks like you have a 'Stuck IP Profile'. Unfortunately although that can and does happen it does not appear to be in the script that the Indians have.

I am afraid that you are going to have to call them again and be firm with them. Don't be rude but keep on their case. If the Agent that you speak to does not know what an IP Profile is, demand to speak to some one who does!

If all else fails write to Sir Michel Rake the Chairman of BT. I have posted the address here umpteen times. Usually the Chairman's Office get things fixed in a matter of days.

Last edited by beerhunter2 : 14-01-2009 at 13:52. Reason: typo
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2009, 13:49
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks beerhunter!

I think that might be the problem then. The first Hub I recieved had a power problem and would turn itself off every half hour or so. Maybe this has caused problems during the 10 day stability period.

I will give them a call when I get home and keep you posted!

Fingers Crossed!
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2009, 14:00
sy278
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,106
If beerhunters suggestion doesnt cure it call BT back and tell them you want an openworld engineer sent out to test the line. I had a smilar issue last year, my IP Profile dropped from its normal of around 7k mark to 116k, bt insisted that their was nothing wrong with the line. At the time I was using a netgear router/adsl modem and found a tool on the net which interogates the router directly and it charted the noise ratio from the router, this showed massive spikes occuring at which point my connection speed was dropping off.

I called BT back told them of this they again ran a test which showed no issues on the line, I then insisted they send an engineer out.

The engineer came out on a Sunday morning and was getting the same problem on his modem, sync speed was around 2400k but IP Profile was still low.

He checked all the internal wiring and wiring to the pole, he went back to the exchange and checked there too, eventually he found water ingress that had corroded connections on my line at one of the big junction cabinets a couple of streets from me.

He remade the connections and my sync speed immediatly jumped to over 7k and noise ratio dropped considerably. 3 days later the IP Profile reset itself to its normal level.

Occasionally the IP profile can be stuck and needs to be manually reset (in which case it goes into its 10 day triaing mode again) or sometimes it actually hasnt been updated when a customer upgrades from an older slower package to a new "high-speed" one.

Hope some of this helps.
sy278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2009, 15:08
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,168
If beerhunters suggestion doesnt cure it call BT back and tell them you want an openworld engineer sent out to test the line. .
I know that you are trying to help it is unlikely at this point that there is anything wrong with the OP's line. It has an excellent sync speed.

BTW its Openreach.
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2009, 16:47
sy278
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,106
Your right it is Openreach my bad.

However often my line wass howing a good sync speed but it was dropping intermittently due to the noise ratio so the system lowered my IP profile.

I only noted the sync speed dropping once I applied the tracking program to chart all the output from the router.
sy278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2009, 14:00
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
So, I rang BT last night an spoke to the indians at the call centre! I told them I have ran all the test before and dont wanna run through them again and told them straight off that my IP profile was stuck at a very low level despite a good line rate.

To my suprise the guy who I was talking to knew exactly what he talking about and rang for a BT engineer to come out today! I even heard him say on the phone "no, this has been going on for too long and the customer is paying for a service he is not getting".

So an engineer is coming out sometime today to check the exchange box and check if there is any problems at my end.

Hopefully he/she will get to the root of the problem!

Again I will keep you posted!
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2009, 15:14
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,168
Hopefully he/she will get to the root of the problem!

Again I will keep you posted!
Please do. I am currently speculating on how an Openreach Engineer will fix an IP Profile.
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2009, 16:45
openreachpeep
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: manchester
Posts: 946
i'm sure they meant passing it onto wholesale to look at.
openreachpeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 13:30
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Ok I thought I would post an update.

As I said an engineer came to look at the exchange box bout a week ago. He said that a component needed to be replaced. The lovely people at the indian call centre ring me 24hrs later only for me to tell them there is still no improvement.

A second engineer has visited my house to see if there are any problems here. He said everything is fine on the line and set up his own laptop to my Hub.

He said that BT were "capping" my connection. After ringing the Indians again, they say the cap has been took off! (How come not one person knew they was capping my connection????)

That was early yesturday and guess what? Still no improvement, infact its gone abit slower and am still locked with an IP profile of 500!!

here are my latest results:

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
IP profile for your line is - 500 kbps
DSL connection rate: 449 kbps(UP-STREAM) 7954 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 334 kbps

Any thoughts? Think it would be possible to say to them, as they are not providing the service am paying for I want to cancel my contract?
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 14:54
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,168
Lots of thoughts, here they are. There is nothing wrong with: your line, the DSLAM or your Home Hub.

You have a stuck IP Profile. Unfortunately BT's Indians are pretty useless on these. (Remember the guy that you thought was OK called an Engineer rather then get it reset!)

The 'second Engineer' did not know what he was talking about either. BT do not 'cap' via ones' IP Profile, it is set by an automatic system. In your case it has gone wrong and needs to be fixed by simply manually resetting it.

I'd give them one more chance and the write to the Chairman.

The annoying thing for me is that when I call BT on customers' behalf it is obvious that I have read the BT manuals and that the gang of muppets employed by BT haven't.
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 17:57
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
I have just got in from work an have had a missed call from the BT Help desk. So I thought, before I ring back, I would run another speedtest.

Here are the results:

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
IP profile for your line is - 7100 kbps
DSL connection rate: 350 kbps(UP-STREAM) 1350 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1253 kbps

So they have done something as my speed has improved but my connection rate has fallen by over 6000 kbps.

After speaking to the Idians he said I dont have a stable line and to monitor it over the next 72 hours. But why has my connection rate only fell now, its been on 7000+ plus since I have had it!
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 18:16
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,168
I
After speaking to the Idians he said I dont have a stable line and to monitor it over the next 72 hours. But why has my connection rate only fell now, its been on 7000+ plus since I have had it!
In my opinion, the morons have been pissing about trying to fix a fault that wasn't there and have managed to induce a new one.

Write to Sir Michael Rake.
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 18:18
openreachpeep
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: manchester
Posts: 946
they may have completely reset your rambo profile, effectively putting you back on the 10 day training period. monitor it over the next few days and your downstream rate should start to rise, and hopefully your ip profile won't go back to 500K.
openreachpeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 20:47
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks for the help guys, you have helped alot!

I will give it a few days see how it goes then as you said Beerhunter a letter is goin straight to Sir Michael Rake.

I will update over the weekend! Sorry to be a pain ha
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 20:57
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,168
Sorry to be a pain ha
Far from it. It is BT who are the pain trying to support their customers with a gang of semi-trained muppets.
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2009, 11:09
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
I have run a few checks over the past 2 days to see if the speed has increased. I have , on average, been getting just over 1000kbps, with a line rate changing between 1000kbps to 7000kbps.

Now I have found a new problem. In the past 2 days my Hub keeps switching it self off or the broadband light goes orange for half an hour. I have had enough of BT and have been travelling into uni to complete work.

This has been going on for 4 months now. I am writing a letter to Sir Micheal Rake now and telling him I want my contract cancelled as they are not providing the service am paying for. I am a business law student and have visited the ofcom site for legal advise.

Do you think this will be possible? Also is it hard getting your MAC code off BT?
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2009, 11:18
tuppy26
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Kent
Posts: 3,612
I will be honest Ive not read the whole thread, but obviously if you do write a letter stating the problems etc then they may well let you out of the contract...........as for the MAC code, I tried a few months ago to get it from BT who insisted that they had to email me it and would be with me in the next 7-10days and that they would bill me for getting out of my contract early (I didnt have any problem except the price so could not complain for lack of service or anything).................well 3months later no MAC code so thought sod it I'll stick out my contract as it ends in March anyway.............well beginning of January decided nah I can get much better deal with Sky so I shall try again, this time round very helpful English lady who tried to get me to stay with offers etc but I was like nah sorry Sky still would be better she said ok and gave me my MAC code there and then on the phone and Ive just got the bill through for early termination of contract @60+7 VAT, so I think it may all depend who you get on the phone as to how easy it is to get your code.
tuppy26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2009, 11:44
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Ye am gonna send a letter off soon as I finish work and give the billing department a call too.

Hope I can get it soon as O2 have a "3 months free" offer ending 31st jan!
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2009, 13:50
tuppy26
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chatham, Kent
Posts: 3,612
Ye am gonna send a letter off soon as I finish work and give the billing department a call too.

Hope I can get it soon as O2 have a "3 months free" offer ending 31st jan!
So have Sky at the moment aswell, managed to bag a package of free line rental and free internet for 3months, so check about 1st . Good Luck Hope it all works out.
tuppy26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2009, 13:58
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
I have had a look at sky an from my landline number they say my maximum speed is 6mb but 02 say 13mb!

I will have to see what happens with BT first. Ill keep you posted
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2009, 17:56
evofan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Sorry for the double post, but I have just got in from work and my brother has told me the internet has been running slow all day. So did a speed test an got this:

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Your DSL connection rate: 7936 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP profile for your line is - 250 kbps
Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 217 kbps

I am really annoyed with BT now
evofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2009, 18:43
beerhunter2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 7,168
You need to write that letter. In my experience a letter to the Chairman gets things fixed in a matter of days. It would help everyone who uses BT Broadband if you were to mention that you have no confidence in the competence of the Call Centre to fix your problem.
beerhunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:15.