Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

What size dish for freesat?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-01-2009, 16:39
Butterflygirl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 749

Him indoors has finally settled for the Panasonic 32" full HD tv with freesat built in but was wondering what size satellite dish we need?

So far we have a choice of two sizes 43cm and 60cm.

We would prefer to get the smallest size so that it doesn't look too chavy on the front of the house but want to be sure that we get one big enough to support full HD.

Does anyone have any experience with these dishes, please?

He read somewhere that the 43cm is ok but only in good weather conditions.

(I can always pop out for some trackie bottoms and trainers if the larger size is what is needed )

Thanks.
Butterflygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-01-2009, 16:44
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,628
Depends where you are, 43cm is fine until you get too far north, where 60cm is better.

Makes no difference at all if it's HD or not.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2009, 16:44
niall campbell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: now a townie in glasgow! help
Posts: 6,917
get a 60cm for HD and its not neddie

the wee one may do if you live far south
niall campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2009, 16:51
Toxteth O'Grady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7,338
The transmissions are exactly the same ones as used for those with a Sky branded box so just look around to see what your neighbours have
Toxteth O'Grady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2009, 16:59
Butterflygirl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 749
We do live 'dahn sarf' Essex/East London border, thanks for all your replies.
Butterflygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 14:16
TheBoingoBandit
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,827
A larger dish can help to stop the picture breaking up during heavy rain.
TheBoingoBandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 14:22
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,628
A larger dish can help to stop the picture breaking up during heavy rain.
The 43cm dish is sized so you should only lose pictures on a very small number of occasions per year - and only under exceptionally bad conditions (where you may well lose terrestrial as well).
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 20:12
nancyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 712
If you want Freesat without the "I'm a half-wit Sky-Chav" connotations of a standard dish, there is a slightly less horrible thing called a sqish. I wonder if they work?

http://www.sqish.co.uk/
nancyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 20:37
tomconti
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern England
Posts: 1,114
The 43cm dish is sized so you should only lose pictures on a very small number of occasions per year - and only under exceptionally bad conditions (where you may well lose terrestrial as well).
Unlikely to ever lose terrestrial signal due to rain.

The larger dish will ensure they should never lose the DSAT signal unless there is very heavy snow or extreme torrential rain like we sometimes get in the Summer
tomconti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 20:56
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,628
Unlikely to ever lose terrestrial signal due to rain.
You must live somewhere very sunny then

It holds up better than satellite, much higher power, much higher frequency, but still fades during exceptional weather conditions.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 21:12
tomconti
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern England
Posts: 1,114
You must live somewhere very sunny then

It holds up better than satellite, much higher power, much higher frequency, but still fades during exceptional weather conditions.
I'm 46 - I had reception of adjoining ITV regions up until the 80's .

I've had DTT from the days of On Digital and I've never ever lost signal in rain.

I've had weird reception in the days when atmospherics used to bring in channels from abroad and from the other end of the country but I've never lost the signal due to any kind of weather.

Rain does not affect terrestrial signals in the same way that it affects satellite reception - and that is to be expected because sat signals come from 22000 miles away while terrestrial signals rarely do more than 50 miles
tomconti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2009, 14:42
Butterflygirl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 749
Thanks all.

Large dish duly installed and HD working - well, what little there actually is of it at present.

I feel like I've taken a step backwards. Having to rush out to the kitchen in the ad breaks instead of pausing programmes in a 'civilised' manner in the way I have become accustomed on either my digifusion or BT vision box.

What price progress?
Butterflygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2009, 17:31
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,796
You can buy a Freesat PVR if you want to pause live telly.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2009, 18:08
derek500
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 17,701

What price progress?
299, I'm afraid!!
derek500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 12:39
Butterflygirl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 749
You can buy a Freesat PVR if you want to pause live telly.
We've already got a digifusion box and a BT vision box, I'm not sure there will be room in the cupboard for anything else!
Butterflygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 16:56
elcid123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3

I live in Runcorn Cheshire and I have 2 43 cm dishes, I was advised i needed 60 cm
elcid123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 19:44
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,877
299, I'm afraid!!
You can pick up HD freesat PVR boxes for under 200 I believe.

As for OP, I am not sure but you may be able to pause live TV if you use a USB storage device on your TV ?
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 20:35
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
Unlikely to ever lose terrestrial signal due to rain.

The larger dish will ensure they should never lose the DSAT signal unless there is very heavy snow or extreme torrential rain like we sometimes get in the Summer
You must live somewhere very sunny then

It holds up better than satellite, much higher power, much higher frequency, but still fades during exceptional weather conditions.
Where I am, the freeview signal is marginal. In heavy rain, freeview is the first to start breaking up, so I'm very glad to have satellite to rely on when freeview gets too unreliable.
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 20:53
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,254
errrr you are aware that this is a very nearly four year old thread?
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 21:07
David (2)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 15,981
No issue with having to put up with ad breaks on my Freesat pvr (Humax). Live pause just like Sky+. Or record stuff.

Using a MK4 Sky mini dish for Freesat with Octo LNB fitted. Only had 1 example of signal (picture) breakup in 18months (due to rain). Even the rain this year has not resulted in any loss of signal (pic breakup). This is in Wiltshire so its only a standard "small" Mini dish as well.

Freeview (digital tv through an aerial) is a lot less forgiving. If the signal is a bit marginal to start with, then weather changes can degrade the signal to the point of picture breakup. Long term weather effects such as Lift conditions can also do this and this can last for long periods of time (days and weeks). This was how our freeview was prior to DSO on a distant mast, with giant aerial way up in the sky. With DSO the local relay mast went digital, so a much more modest aerial is fine for that and this is a lot more stable, but still not quite as perfect as satellite.
David (2) is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 22:14
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,382
True.....I think we moved on since 2009 when this thread was raised!!!!
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2012, 14:55
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,796
Yeah, I was just about to offer some sage advice, then noticed I'd given just that advice back in 2009.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:36.