Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Pure Highway New Firmware 1.5


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2009, 15:55
lewiscolin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Winter Hill - UK
Posts: 91

Pure have released a new firmware for the Highway....

http://www.pure.com/Support/kb.asp?P...-60905&FAQ=236

Version 1.5 apparently will allow you to upgrade to Dab+ but not in the UK...

When I downloaded the software the site had instructions on how to get a DAB+ activation code...This has since been removed and I've had the following emails from Pure...
------
[COLOR=blue][FONT=&quot]Thank you for your e-mail[/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=blue][FONT=&quot]regarding problems with your DAB+ upgrade, we are still testing this process and am surprised that you managed to navigate through to the pages in the short time we were testing this.[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=blue][FONT=&quot]We will be launching the DAB+ upgrade service soon and will of course advise you of it's availibility.[/FONT][/COLOR]

[COLOR=blue][FONT=&quot]I apologise for the inconvenience caused.[/FONT][/COLOR]
----
[FONT=&quot]You can't unlock the DA+ features from with in the UK. There is no DAB+ to play in this country and every person that unlocks DAB+ software - we have to pay a royally and we're not paying royalties for people in the UK to unlock DAB+ when it's not available here. If you want to use your radio abroad in a country where DAB+ is being broadcast then you need to unlock the software from that country.[/FONT]
lewiscolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 10-02-2009, 16:27
belleville1
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,619
You can't unlock the DA+ features from with in the UK. There is no DAB+ to play in this country and every person that unlocks DAB+ software - we have to pay a royally and we're not paying royalties for people in the UK to unlock DAB+ when it's not available here.
...which is a situation that could have been avoided if the radio industry had collectively got behind open standards.

Had something like Ogg Vorbis been adapted for broadcast use rather than AAC+, anyone would be able to make the radios to pick it up without paying royalties to anyone.
belleville1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2009, 14:38
Charlie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Gorleston, Norfolk
Posts: 1,085
According to this page it is again now possible to upgrade the Highway to DAB+ (not that it makes any difference in the UK at the moment).

http://www.pure.com/support/kb.asp?Product=VL-60905

I cannot get it to upgrade to v1.5 for some reason, it just sits there appearing to do nothing (on Win XP)
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2009, 14:29
Ragnarok
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: near Hell,
Posts: 4,113
Stick this URL

http://www.puredigital.com/dabplusOZ...roduct=Highway

In this proxy

http://www.aussieproxy.info/

Fill in the details, ( you may have to set your country as austrialia). then on the next page when it loads, the key doesn't appear to be there, but if you look at the address bar your unlock key is the last bit in the aussie proxy.

Managed to unlock DAB+ on mine, not that it helps at the moment.
Ragnarok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2009, 00:08
chriswyatt
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,377
I did the same, I used UltraSurf. It's an American proxy but I still managed to upgrade to DAB+ on the Australian Pure website

http://www.ultrareach.com/
chriswyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2009, 09:40
GrannyGruntbuck
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,229
Is it still possible to upgrade to Dab+ using this method?


I am about to purchase a Highway unit and plan on driving round Europe next year.
GrannyGruntbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2009, 10:00
GrannyGruntbuck
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,229
Ok, purchased a highway and it already has firmware 1.5 installed.

Does that mean it is already DAB+ ready or must I do something?

Any advice greatfully accepted.
GrannyGruntbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2009, 10:17
hanssolo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,678
As lewiscolin says you may need the DAB+ activation code from Pure?
hanssolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2009, 10:44
GrannyGruntbuck
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,229
Now upgraded to Dab+.

Will be travelling through Europe early next year and again later in the year, so all I nned now are some Dab+ stations to test it.
GrannyGruntbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2009, 11:29
hanssolo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,678
http://www.wohnort.org/DAB/ and http://www.worlddab.org/country_information are probably the best sites for info on DAB+ tests and both seem to work together to encourage feedback to update the sites!
hanssolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2010, 21:18
vinnielo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East England
Posts: 4,985
Now upgraded to Dab+.

Will be travelling through Europe early next year and again later in the year, so all I nned now are some Dab+ stations to test it.
How did you get on?
In my upgrade, I don't ever recall having to enter a code.
vinnielo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2010, 21:22
GrannyGruntbuck
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,229
I didn't go!

Circumstances dictated that I couldn't travel.

Not sure when I will now. Could be as late as next Spring.
GrannyGruntbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2010, 02:06
vinnielo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East England
Posts: 4,985
Well, I'm in Switzerland next month, so I'll give it a go there.
vinnielo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2010, 23:55
vinnielo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East England
Posts: 4,985
In Switzerland now. The signals are pretty strong here! DAB+ stations working well. It's nice to note that when signals get weak, the radio just goes silent, rather than give annoying screeching noises. I don't know if there is automatic muting going on inside the radio, similar to the option that you can set for standard DAB stations.
vinnielo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 08:25
Bangers
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,778
It could possibly be the muting. When my old DRM radio list signal the break-up was definitely audible.
Bangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 08:51
hanssolo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,678
The error correction on DAB+ is different which might explain it a bit! Noticed low level standard DAB signals behaved a bit differently on different sets (maybe how well the circuits dealt with error correction)!

Noticed several countries watching how DAB+ is going and it will become more common across Europe! Germany said they will confirm if it's national DAB+ mux will go ahead in 2011 this month!
hanssolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2010, 19:21
pmbond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 755
It's nice to note that when signals get weak, the radio just goes silent, rather than give annoying screeching noises.
Just playing with a highway that has v1.1 on it. Is that similar to the fade on burble that I see listed? Also is there any point in upgrading to v1.5 (it's not mine) ?
pmbond is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:15.