Options

Work unbearable as not conceiving

shmiskshmisk Posts: 7,963
Forum Member
I have been trying to conceive with OH almost 6 years now, I have a son from previous partner and OH is childless,

I work in a hospital and our base is next to the labour ward

Seeing labouring women and people taking home their newborns is breaking my heart, I can't cope.

Any advice?

Comments

• Options
    simondsUU933wsimondsUU933w Posts: 4,176
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    If it's such a serious problem then you may need to reconsider your job (or at least your current appointment).

Or adopt? I really wish more people would adopt.
  • Options
    RandomSallyRandomSally Posts: 7,073
    Forum Member
    Have you both had tests to find out if there's any issues?
    Also (and I know you know this) stressing about not conceiving is a pretty good way of stopping conceiving. So imo you need to try and find a way of putting getting pregnant right to the back of your head. Stop trying to conceive and it will likely happen when you least expect it. Have fun with your son and enjoy each other.
    And yes, I know that's far easier said than done but if medically all is well that is imo your best course of action.
    As for work is there any chance of a transfer so it could help you not think about getting pregnant constantly?
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,479
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Goldbear86 wrote: »
    I know it doesn't feel like it but 6 months isn't really that long when trying to conceive. Could it be you are stressing too much about it? Try to relax, enjoy it, don't think of it as means to an end. I know some women who are and were completely obsessed with pregnancy, they charted their temperature daily, and the whole process by their admission was tighter than a military routine. When they relaxed a little it happened.

Op says 6 Years not months.