Options

Who taught you to cook?

Alleycat666Alleycat666 Posts: 8,739
Forum Member
Did you learn at school/from your mum (or dad;))/teach yourself?

Me - I started making cakes and stuff when very young (pre-school probably), then learnt the basics from my mum and self-taught after that.

My OH was very impressed with the first Sunday Roast that I dished up when we moved in together:) and that I knew how to make a victoria sponge without a recipe book:p.

Anyone else?

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,510
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Self taught. I come from a long line of dreadful cooks, so hopefully I am breaking that line.
  • Options
    RAINBOWGIRL22RAINBOWGIRL22 Posts: 24,459
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I'm still waiting for someone to teach me :eek: :p
  • Options
    whoever,heywhoever,hey Posts: 30,992
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Self/student taught. Started with the good old stirfry and rice as a student. Literally throwing anything in a wok. Went from there, using inspiration from recipe books and the web.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 24,724
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    A combination of my mother, father, school, my OH and Delia Smith:D
  • Options
    dollylovesshoesdollylovesshoes Posts: 14,531
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Domestic Science at school (as it was called then) Many moons ago :) Me mum/nan and aunts. All good basic cooks.:) I really picked up on cooking when I lived with my partner in a one bedroom flat with a tiny belling one plate oven..If you can cook on one of them you can do anything.:D:D
  • Options
    indianwellsindianwells Posts: 12,702
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I taught myself. My first job was grill chef at a Berni Inn but there were only half a dozen items on the menu so not real cooking.
    A couple of years ago I went to college to do an NVQ 2 which was quite useful.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 4,839
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭