Options

Would they have spent an hour trying to revive a normal person?

Comments

• Options
    KnifeEdgeKnifeEdge Posts: 3,919
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    TeaCosy wrote: »
    How do you know that everyone's beds are sprung and soft?

Most peoples beds are not suitable to perform CPR on.
  • Options
    XassyXassy Posts: 9,365
    Forum Member
    KnifeEdge wrote: »
    With CPR you need a hard surface behind the patient so that you can compress their chest sufficiently against it with your hands!

I've recently done a first aid course and one of the first things we were taught about CPR was to move them off the bed before starting compressions.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 964
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    They do, have you felt how hard some hospital beds are. :eek: However, they also use cardiac boards which goes under the patient.

I'm a nurse and have attended cardiac emergencies, to which none were placed on a board. :confused:
  • Options
    Uncle FesterUncle Fester Posts: 15,357
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    If you ever have to go into a resuscitation room in A&E you will see a chart on the wall with EU instruction on the whole procedure
  • Options
    kate36kate36 Posts: 13,715
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    i think most emergency technicians would call time well before the hour was up if the patient wasn't responding wouldn't they?

sounds like bulking and fodder for the tabloids like much else in this media circus
  • Options
    zx50zx50 Posts: 91,279
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    ustarion wrote: »
    The same with Diana. Didn't they open up her chest and massage it by hand?

What would the quality of life have been like if these people did actually respond to medical treatment? Surely they would have been in vegetative states, so maybe it was better that they did die.