Options

50 mbps virgin - modem lights flashing, virgin support == horrible

Just had a very nasty encounter with the virgin 150 support re: broadband. I simply had unplugged/replugged my modem because moving furniture, and internet access just stopped working.

The tech support guy was incredibly rude. Asking me what I did for a living, and treating me like a complete moron. You could hear him sigh of the line and making comments like 'he can't even dial a phone number'.

Needless to say I'm still with my internet down. Now I happen not to be a complete moron, in fact I have 12 years experience sysadmining, so I connected to 192.168.100.1 and here's what I can see:

able Modem : DOCSIS 1.0/1.1/2.0/3.0 Compliant
Serial Number : 0904E08B10004671
Boot Code Version : 6.1.1c
Software Version : 3.11.1011
Hardware Version : 1.39
CA Key : Installed

Acquired Downstream Channel 299.001343 MHz Primary Downstream Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel 25.798563 MHz Success
Provisioning State In Progress BPI Initialization

Ethernet Link Status Up 100 Mbps/Full duplex
Frequency 299000000 N/A N/A N/A
Lock Status
(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Y/Y/Y N/N/N N/N/N N/N/N
Channel Id 0 N/A N/A N/A
Modulation 256QAM N/A N/A N/A
Symbol Rate
(Msym/sec) 6.952 N/A N/A N/A
Interleave Depth I=12
J=17 N/A N/A N/A
Power Level
(dBmV) 2.05 N/A N/A N/A
RxMER
(dB) 35.25 N/A N/A N/A
Correctable
Codewords 0 N/A N/A N/A
Uncorrectable
Codewords 290 N/A N/A N/A

Channel Type 1.0 N/A N/A N/A
Channel ID 2 N/A N/A N/A
Frequency
(Hz) 25800000 N/A N/A N/A
Ranging Status Success N/A N/A N/A
Modulation 16QAM N/A N/A N/A
Symbol Rate
(KSym/sec) 2560 N/A N/A N/A
Mini-Slot Size 2 N/A N/A N/A
Power Level
(dBmV) 38.75 N/A N/A N/A
T1 Timeouts 0
T2 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T3 Timeouts 3 0 0 0
T4 Timeouts 26 0 0 0

General Configuration
Network Access : Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs : 1
Baseline Privacy : Enabled
DOCSIS Mode : DOCSIS 3.0
Config File : N914b3f9fb35d0398.cm
Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID : 22760