Options

Panorama - Are the Net Police Coming for You?

Comments

• Options
    StrakerStraker Posts: 79,679
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    That's quite a mighty claim considering that DVDs haven't been on the market for a lifetime yet. Wouldn't we have to wait until the people who bought the first DVDs start dying off in a few decades time first before we can test out that theory?
    Maybe DVD's have proven to last a lifetime in dog years.

I remember CD technology being sold to the public with the very same claims. That they would last a lifetime and were virtually indestructible too.

I didn’ t say DVDs were indestructible. Of course they can be damaged if you set out to do so and only an idiot would pour jam on them and expect them to play flawlessly. I haven’t any CDs that I’ve had to bin because they are now unplayable and I’ve been buying those for 20+ years, likewise DVD at 12 years and counting. VHS, OTOH I have only a handful of pre-recorded ones left and all have drop-outs, sparklies, tracking problems and some have chewed tape causing distortion. It was an obsolete format as soon as it was introduced.
    chuffster wrote: »
    Very true.
    I've had to bin a handful of DVDs due to them becoming unplayable due to`laser rot`.

Poorly manufactured is all, not sealed properly. Same problem afflicted laserdisc where quality control slipped. Calling it "rot" implies a biological infestation when all it is simply a result of cost cutting at the producing factory.
  • Options
    AlrightmateAlrightmate Posts: 73,120
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Straker wrote: »