Options

Unbearably slow speeds, BT not helping at all...help!

Hi there,

A little background:

Came home yesterday and noticed straight away something was wrong. Did a speed test and the result was 0.13 down, 0.20 up. Did the usual routine of restart Home Hub, computer, change microfilter, still at around 0.15 down. I have a wired and wireless machines and all machines give the same result.

So I ring BT and they make me go through the whole process again, despite me telling them I've tried all their usual steps (been through all this before plus I work in IT). They did a line test and said that from what they can tell, the line is perfect. I had to leave the call, wasted 45 minutes and had to go.

I wake up this morning and the first thing I did was a speed test. Result, 3.5 down, my usual speed. Great I thought, must just be one of those things, now ironed out. Come home today however, same speed as yesterday evening, 0.15ish. My initial thought is they must be traffic shaping me or something.

Anyway had another hour long useless phone call with tech support where at one stage I had a tech guy asking me to clear my cookies "to increase speed". Had to explain politely to him that clearing cookies on one machine in my network of 4 isn't going to speed my overall line up lol. The guy basically couldn't really do anything and said that if it was running well this morning but not in the evening it must be due to high demand. I'm sorry but 0.15 down is unacceptable, whatever bloody time of day.

They said yesterday that it must be something to do with my local network because the line is fine. If it were a problem with my network then why was it fine this morning?

So the only thing I can think to try is request a new Home Hub.