Options

Why dont we call teachers by their first names?

Comments

• Options
    starinthemakingstarinthemaking Posts: 164
    Forum Member
    bean33 wrote: »
    Most teachers are bullies?? That's a gross generalization. I certainly didn't go into the teaching proffession to bully. What a shocking thing to say. I've been teaching for 14 years and find that such an insult. I love my job and have respect for every member of every class I've taught.
    Yes, the children call me "miss" but all of them found out my first name at some point and had no problem understanding that they shouldn't use it. That doesn't mean I accord them no respect, or they certainly don't seem to see it that way.

Did I say "most"? No, I said "many", as in many of the teachers I've met HAVE been glorified bullies, either to me but usually to other classmates. Don't twist my words, thank you.

I'm not saying no teachers deserve respect - read my most recent post, teachers like you who do love their job and respect their class when the class respects them, they do deserve respect, it's the majority of the ones I've come across who just see it as a nusiance and take it out on the class but still demand the respect that I dislike.
  • Options
    TouristaTourista Posts: 14,338
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    This subject is a minefield.

On the one hand, I believe that children should respect their teachers, but I also think that children should expect that they also should be treated by those same teachers with at least a modicum of respect.

My opinions though have been coloured by the awful teachers that I had to put up with, as simply put, they couldnt care if you lived or died, but woe betide you if you disturbed their break time with a problem.....
  • Options
    claire2281claire2281 Posts: 17,283
    Forum Member
    ✭✭