Options

Would it be entirely mad for me to commute by boat?

thefairydandythefairydandy Posts: 3,235
Forum Member
✭✭✭
Seeing as it's the last day of silly season, I thought I'd put a less heavy question in advice, which may help me stop wasting my weekend.

Basically, I am looking at the option to commute to work by canal. We are moving offices in the next few months, and I will be close to canal moorings at both ends, with a direct route and no locks between here and there. Mooring would cost me £1000 a year, half that of car insurance, though obviously I couldn't just take the boat anywhere.

I have some little experience boating on lakes, but not canals.

Is there such a thing as a small motored boat with a little cabin - I've been looking at a few but none are under 14" and a smaller one would be better I think.

Do you need a license on a canal? Boat insurance? Basically is this idea totally nuts and should I give up even contemplating it?!

I think this could be quite a fun purchase, and it would definitely give me something to do of a weekend! Also, I blooming hate trains but can't quite afford a car.

Comments

• Options
    tenorladytenorlady Posts: 1,976
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    How long would the commute by canal be? Most canals have a speed limit of 4mph.

I've got a little houseboat, it's great fun but not cheap, mooring fees are just the start of it.

http://www.boatsales-uk.com/running_costs.htm
  • Options
    MaxatoriaMaxatoria Posts: 17,980
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    So long as you move every 2 weeks you aint liable to council tax i think but you have to remember that you'll need to sort out your own heating/lighting etc which will cost you one way or another so from what i remember it aint much different long term than living on dry land
  • Options
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Maxatoria wrote: »