Options

"Full time mum" is NOT a job title

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 961
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Can I say I'm a full time data researcher as an excuse to explain why I'm unemployed and spend all day on the internet reading pointless information, like this thread?
  • Options
    Paul237Paul237 Posts: 8,657
    Forum Member
    I don't see the problem. She likely has a husband who earns the money while she looks after the kids.

Of course if single mums keep churning out kids because they'd rather do that than go back to work, then it's different.
  • Options
    mummypiggetmummypigget Posts: 12,325
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    You're right and I have been a stay at home mum/housewife for 6 years and when I was asked my employment status, I said unemployed, I was corrected by the woman on the end of the phone when she asked if I claim any benefits, I don't so it is classed as housewife! My mind boggled.

Admittedly this isn't the case here but hey ho!
  • Options
    MoonyMoony Posts: 15,093
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Did the presenter ask for a job title - or did they ask "what do you do".
  • Options
    EmmasmytheEmmasmythe Posts: 530
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Boyard wrote: »
    I was watching The Weakest Link the other day and when they all went around giving their job titles one woman said "I'm Sonia and I'm a full time mum" This kind of talk really makes me cringe and ditto when women say being a full time mum is "the hardest job in the world" Bollocks is it! You should love looking after your child, dont class it as a bloody job! :rolleyes: A job is what you do to support/feed the child.

What do you think of people who go on like this?

Why shouldnt it be a job title, are you saying women should bring up their kids for no recognition whatsoever? financial or otherwise?
  • Options
    BoyardBoyard Posts: 5,393
    Forum Member
    Emmasmythe wrote: »