Options

4 year old boy looked like concentration camp victim

Comments

• Options
    alan29alan29 Posts: 34,685
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Packing your kids off to boarding school so that someone else can have the pleasure of raising them isn't what I would call caring behaviour, but it is so very upper and middle class. When I was a trainee social worker, way back when we were often told that sexual abuse within families was statistically more prevalent among "professional" families than among "working class" families.
    But I am equally sure that these are both unsubstantiated assertions, just like the ones that led me to post.
  • Options
    franciefrancie Posts: 31,089
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    benjamini wrote: »
    There was indeed a school nurse who visited the mother at home, plus an educational welfare officer also made a home visit. The doctor was contacted and he put him on nutrition pills. No one seemed to follow through tho. The GP must have examined the child, surely he would insist on a follow up visit. So many people involved, so lttle done. It is staggering that this could happen.

It's unbelievable to be honest.
  • Options
    DoobyDuckDoobyDuck Posts: 193
    Forum Member
    alan29 wrote: »
    Packing your kids off to boarding school so that someone else can have the pleasure of raising them isn't what I would call caring behaviour, but it is so very upper and middle class. When I was a trainee social worker, way back when we were often told that sexual abuse within families was statistically more prevalent among "professional" families than among "working class" families.
    But I am equally sure that these are both unsubstantiated assertions, just like the ones that led me to post.

who mentioned the " working class"
  • Options
    alan29alan29 Posts: 34,685
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    DoobyDuck wrote: »

The social work trainer I quoted.
  • Options
    benjaminibenjamini Posts: 32,066
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭