2010 Sony TV no longer able to receive 4Music

Comments

• Options
    skillerskiller Posts: 963
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    packages wrote: »
    Youview isn't Freeview HD.
    I'm unsure which part of my post this is in response to. Are you saying that to be able to receive channels currently on LCNs 225-236, your device needs to have the Freeview HD logo? If so, how is it that the Sony Bravia KDL-40EX403 for example (which does have this logo) isn't able to?

Interesting that you mention this though. I hadn't even noticed this until now, but my YouView box has no Freeview HD logo anywhere - not on the actual machine, nor on the box it came in, nor in the manual/user-guide, nor on its EPG.

But it receives Freeview channels (including HD ones), has catch-up services and PPV VOD services. So can anyone tell me what the YouView box is missing that makes it ineligible to qualify for a Freeview HD logo? (As you can probably tell, I'm no expert!)
  • Options
    Nigel GoodwinNigel Goodwin Posts: 58,593
    Forum Member
    skiller wrote: »
    I'm unsure which part of my post this is in response to. Are you saying that to be able to receive channels currently on LCNs 225-236, your device needs to have the Freeview HD logo? If so, how is it that the Sony Bravia KDL-40EX403 for example (which does have this logo) isn't able to?

Freeview HD is about Freeview, NOT about Internet services, which weren't (and still aren't!!) standardised before YouView (which was supposed to be the standard).

But it receives Freeview channels (including HD ones), has catch-up services and PPV VOD services. So can anyone tell me what the YouView box is missing that makes it ineligible to qualify for a Freeview HD logo? (As you can probably tell, I'm no expert!)

YouView is a 'super set' of Freeview HD, so presumably doesn't need the lesser logo?.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    YouView is a 'super set' of Freeview HD, so presumably doesn't need the lesser logo?.