Options

Was this customer right to shout at me?

allthatyouwantallthatyouwant Posts: 1,381
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I work in retail and today a customer rang up ranting and raving that his daughter bought a loaf of bread with a best before date 13/11

i asked politely what was the issue and he was shouting that he was sick of supermarkets thinking we can rip off customers! He said we was conning him by selling him bread that goes off today

he said that we should have got rid of all the bread last night but i explained it was standard practise everywhere to thrown out of date products at the end of the day

dp you think the customer was over the top because i was a bit shaken by his attitude and aggressiveness on thebphone

Comments

• Options
    SupratadSupratad Posts: 10,464
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I worked in a shop for a couple of years. Some people are shouters and ranters, some people are calm and reasonable.
    His daughter was at fault for buying short-dated bread, but he chose to vent his anger on you. Don't worry about it one bit, he is the one shortening his own life.
  • Options
    lightdragonlightdragon Posts: 19,059
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Hate to think how this person would react to anything important. :eek:

I thought most people check the dates on what they buy. You should've told him you'd refund the loaf of bread, and let his daughter have the life lesson for free. :cool:
  • Options
    LaceyLouelle3LaceyLouelle3 Posts: 9,682
    Forum Member
    Of course he wasn't. No customer has the right to do that and had he tried that with me, he would have got a mouthful back.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,579
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    He should have taught his daughter about checking dates on short life products. He is at fault. But having worked in a supermarket myself you get arsey people from time to time, don't let it bother you
  • Options
    annette kurtenannette kurten Posts: 39,543
    Forum Member