Options

Clinically dead pregnant woman being kept alive on life support

Comments

• Options
    RandomSallyRandomSally Posts: 7,077
    Forum Member
    MRSgotobed wrote: »
    [/B]

Yes, tortuous situation, very sad for everybody involved.

Completely horrendous situation.
  • Options
    Mrs FinkelsteinMrs Finkelstein Posts: 950
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    MarellaK wrote: »

I personally feel very uncomfortable about the case in question. As an ITU nurse I have a lot of experience with brain dead patients being prepared for organ donation. Even for the few hours (sometimes days) while we care for the dead patient in such a meticulous and rigid fashion in order to maintain the organs at their optimum, it is heart wrenching to watch the family's reactions to their loved one who still appears 'alive' while we obsess over preserving all vital signs within rigid parameters. I really cannot imagine what that would be like over the course of several months or even how it would be really possible? Patients who are brain stem dead have a very labile/ swinging blood pressure and we find it difficult enough maintaining it and keeping it stable with drugs for even a few hours, let alone for several months. Also, patients on ventilators for just a week are prone to developing VAP (ventilator associated pneumonia) so I foresee lots of complications ahead for this poor young woman, and the foetus, and I would be very surprised if this ends well for the baby. There are so many powerful drugs needed to maintain 'life' (it's not just machines) that surely will not benefit the developing foetus.........

If this was happening in the hospital where I work I believe the majority of the staff in ITU (even though most of us are Catholics) would find it unethical as well as desperately sad. It would be completely different if the foetus was developed to the point where it could be delivered but this is a long way from being the case.