Options

Penalty Notice for speeding and it turns out my speedometer is inaccurate.

Comments

• Options
    RobinOfLoxleyRobinOfLoxley Posts: 27,040
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    On the general point of How do you Know?

It is tricky. I have only once, donkeys years ago, as an aside, compared speeds with another car (My Uncle, and our families were all off somewhere on a day out)

But I have developed a feeling for speed. You build up by experience a mental map of sound of the engine, tyre noise, hitting speed humps a little too hard, and what other traffic is doing and other factors.

The feeling is of course not completely scientific. Many mistakes are possible.
    Overall I think I can judge 30mph and 40mph fairly well. (Possibly even 52 to 57)

So then, how accurate is my judgement based on the environment?

And I have 34 years experience of driving. I accept that others must learn too, as I continue to do.

I also have old DIY experience of fixing cars (when we used to) and knew if you change the tyres or profiles or messed with the gearbox, the speedo could be wrong.

A new Speedo unit from the scrapyard would have caught me out (if I had ever done that)

My feeling is that the OP, if a safe, considerate driver, should not lose their job over a temporary aberration

Many thousands of drivers do succeed in their argument, but it takes careful wording and legal advice in Court.

With all due respect, ditch the "Not my fault" argument and explain why it would be a disaster and an unusual circumstance which will never be repeated. And apologies to the Courts as well (they like that)

The Solicitors tomorrow will advise better.
  • Options
    bluebladeblueblade Posts: 88,859
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Si_Crewe wrote: »
    Indeed.

I recall a specific case (which made the newspapers) where a guy driving a Granada Scorpio was nicked for going through a red light.