Options

I work as a revenue protection officer on the railway. Ask me anything.

Comments

• Options
    Uncle_PhilUncle_Phil Posts: 490
    Forum Member
    stoatie wrote: »
    What was wrong with "conductor"?

Conductors and revenue officers are two different things.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    Elyan wrote: »
    Why are most of you arrogant pricks?

We're not really. We have to be firm and authoritative when dealing with fare evaders but that's just what the job is.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    soulboy77 wrote: »
    Everyday my local train is full of people sitting in First Class who haven't paid for the privilege. Why are the revenue protection officers not doing their job?

This morning I issued 12 penalty fares to people who were sitting in first class when they shouldn't have been. I'm usually on commuter trains but we can't be everywhere all the time.

If you have a daily grievance with this I suggest contacting the train operator and informing them of the service that's a problem .. then they can send revenue officers to deal with that train until the problem subsides.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    Evo102 wrote: »
    As the rail network and train operating companies have been privatised, why does fare evasion remain a criminal offence? Surely it should now be a civil matter like not paying the correct fare.

Because evading your fare is stealing. Doesn't matter if the company you're stealing from is state owned or private.
  • Options
    ElyanElyan Posts: 8,781
    Forum Member
    Uncle_Phil wrote: »
    Our job is to prevent fare evasion. How would you feel if you paid £4000 for a yearly ticket but then everyone around you was just boarding the train without paying their way?

So your job is for the benefit of paying passengers? :D