Options

Typing without looking at the keyboard...

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,334
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Bex_123 wrote: »
    You so cannot be 'one of the oldies' at 25 :p

According to her profile, jazziee is 21. So yeah, compared I am an oldie. :p
  • Options
    Terry WigonTerry Wigon Posts: 6,831
    Forum Member
    Touch typing is one of the things I wish I could do and it would make my life SO much easier and I could get through my work so much quicker. I have tried with the help of a 'Teach Yourself' DVD to get into the habit as I didn't do typing at school in the mid-80s. (Only the girls in the bottom sets did as I recall - very discriminatory!) I've been picking around keyboards for about 25 years with a few fingers misplaced on the keys and have picked up bad habits and need to 'unlearn' what I think I know and start again. I just wish I was a bit quicker.

asdf ;lkj asdf ;lkj (I need a metronome) :D

If anyone has any tips on how to learn touch type successfully and quickly (I do not mind practising) that would be most useful.
  • Options
    WombatDeathWombatDeath Posts: 4,723
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I'm typing his with my eyes closed, so hopefully I haven't made too much of a hash of it. Let's see (eyes open...(

[Edit: can't believe I managed to flub the closing bracket. I think the main problem is that my hands would eventually get out of position and I wouldn't notice, and even if I did I wouldn't be able to recover without looking. I have to look at the keyboard to get into the right starting position.]
  • Options
    Bex_123Bex_123 Posts: 10,783
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    A_Zombie wrote: »
    According to her profile, jazziee is 21. So yeah, compared I am an oldie. :p

Nope! Refuse to be an oldie in a year :p
  • Options
    PuckyPucky Posts: 4,534
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭