Options

Malaysia Airlines flight MH17 shot down near Ukraine-Russia border

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 36,630
    Forum Member
    This suprises you? :p

Yesterday the Bbc's defence 'expert' reckoned the launch site could be found from it's UV signature. Normally launches are detected by the IR/heat bloom..

A lot of the time the news relies on wiki or finding someone, any one who'll give'em a quote. What they may have done is just found this-

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SA-6

which is the old SA-6 Kub. That used TELs linked to a seperate radar vehicle (again with IFF capability) and also in the Ukrainian inventory. But the images found and show have been for the SA-11 variant with integrated radar.

OK.

Unlike you I'm not an expert in missile technology, so was listening to those guests on the news channels, that's all.

I'm not going to spend hours and hours reading up on such weaponry either though, in some internet game of one-upmanship.

But I'd also say we still don't have any confirmation of which model or system it was. We have a couple of ideas as to what it could be and more than likely is, but that's all at present.
  • Options
    MARTYM8MARTYM8 Posts: 44,710
    Forum Member
    basdfg wrote: »
    That's them financially finished then if everyone cancels. Flights to Australia just about to get a fair bit more expensive.

Bar Singapore airlines Malaysian airlines have always been relatively expensive - you normally get better deals with the middle Eastern airlines, KLM/Air France and Lufthansa although the service isn't as good.
  • Options
    CitrusBlastCitrusBlast Posts: 111
    Forum Member
    MARTYM8 wrote: »
    I am travelling to Kuala Lumpur in the autumn - my airline requires full address and passport details before you can check in. It's pretty standard practice now for long haul.